Complete Beginner

DanJen79

Visit site
Hi everyone,

I’ve decided I’m finally going to actually attempt to play golf and was just after a bit of advice really.

I managed to come across 2 old sets of irons that I got for £15 and wondered if you think either would be suitable for a total beginner. One is an old set of Callaway X-14s and the other is a set of Nicklaus Polarity MTRs. The Nicklaus ones seem to be in pretty good condition, but the Callaway ones I think would need to be regripped at some point if anyone thinks they would be worth using...or are they too old? I’m not keen on spending too much at the moment, as if it turns out I can’t get the hang of it, then it would seem a bit of a waste of money.

The other thing was, I’ve provisionally booked myself into a group beginner lesson (4 lessons over 4 weeks for £40). Do you think that is a good way to go, or would one-to-ones be more sensible? I just thought the group one may give me the opportunity to meet like-minded folk just starting out too.

Any general beginners advice would be appreciated too of course.

Thanks,

Dan.

Ndw7

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Firstly, welcome to the forum! I have no idea about those clubs so can't really comment. With regard to the lessons, I would personally say that you would be better off spending £40-50 on 2 one-to-one lessons with a local professional. I've been at the range before whilst these group lessons take place and from what I could say, there's no real coaching. i.e. the pro will demonstrate something, then everyone else will try to do it at the same time whilst the pro just walk around and observes. Obviously thats just my opinion, and maybe someone else on here has a different experience of group lessons?

Good luck with the golf, and let us know how it goes.

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Visit site