Competition costs / prizes

Dannyj1984

Assistant Pro
Visit site
I have recently joined a new club and let me start by saying I play golf for fun and in no way to make money 😅

At my old club I had a few 3rd places over winter (approx 100 entries) and had £80 in prize money for spending at the pro shop when I left in March. The comp fees were £2.50 option £1 for 2s

New club is £4 for comp and £1 optional for 2s I came 3rd last week in my division (entry is split over 3 divisions on Saturdays and 2 on Sunday) and 1st yesterday, you can put your winnings towards next years subs which is nice so I enquired about what winnings were and found out it's £60/£30 for each division, 2 places per division. there are approx 140 on Saturday and 100 on Wednesday who enter meaning £560 on Saturday and £400 on a Wednesday of which £270 and £150 respectively is paid in prizes! Less than 50 percent of entry fees in prize money seems very low from what I've read on other threads?

I'm quite new to golf and my h/c is currently tumbling down so I'm under no illusion I will be coming in to top 3 each week 😅 But with a 30 mile round trip on a Saturday and £4 entry it gets quite expensive, when I could just play after work (less than a mile away) instead.

Anyone else have such a low %age of entry fees as prize money? I'm aware that the rest goes to the running of comps etc but £500+ a week??

P.s Hazel grove is my old club. I don't want to divulge who the current club is :)

Last edited:

Lord Tyrion

Money List Winner
Visit site
That seems a bit steep to me. At my place we pay £2 plus £1 for the 2's. I think 50p is taken by the club, the rest is dished out on the day. The money covers trophies, engraving etc. I'd baulk at £4 as subs are enough on their own.

Crazyface

Tour Winner
Visit site
I have recently joined a new club and let me start by saying I play golf for fun and in no way to make money 😅