Category 1 golfers

manxjimbo

Visit site
Hi i am new to this and am trying to post my own thread re rules of golf, hoping that you can help me here re my question or can post this so as we get feed back from those who know, my question is with reference to a CAT 1 golfer 0-6 Hcap, at what time can such a player receive a cut in their Hcap ? my understanding is that such a player can only be cut as a result of a competition played from medal Tee's and NOT in general play ? we have some clubs here in the Isle of Man who appear to be cutting Cat 1 players as a result of general play can you clarify what the ruling is on Cat 1 players ?

edit, Brendy: threads merged.

Last edited by a moderator:

manxjimbo

Visit site
Hi ALL please can someone clarify to me what the official ruling is reference a CAT 1 golfer 0-6 Hcap and at what times they can receive a cut to their Hcap ? my understanding is that such a player can only receive a cut after having played in a competition from the medal Tee,s and NOT as a result of General play ? I ask this as here in the Isle of Man we have some individuals who appear to be having cuts to their Hcaps from general play when they are CAT 1 golfers ? Please can someone confirm official ruling

cookelad

Tour Winner
Visit site
Re: Handicap question

My understanding is that CAT 1 players can receive general play reductions/supplementary cards but it has to be done by the county and not by the club (I should know for definite but I play enough comps that I've always been done via medal rounds!)

chrisd

Major Champion
Visit site
Hi.... welcome to the forum

My understanding is that, under CONGU, they can be cut on results other than by scorecard, but only with the prior permission of the clubs county officials. No doubt this will be corrected if I'm now wrong!

pbrown7582

Money List Winner
Visit site
Hello and welcome enjoy.