Can a caddy mark their players scorecard?

I suppose if I was the player and I told my marker to 'shut it!' and he didn't I would mark my ball where it lay; walk in; report the marker and ask for a replacement. But would that constitute a breach of the rule prohibiting me delaying play without permission? - or walking off the course in the middle of a round without permission?

I would suggest that would not be considered 'undue delay'.
 
There are other situations in which you are entitled to discontinue play in order to get a member of the Committee to sort something out - such as a tee marker being missing or a mushroom growing on the line of your putt (yes, bizarrely, there is a Decision about mushrooms on the line of your putt!). Here you have a situation in which you are unable to continue play until the marker is sorted out which seems to me to be the same kind of thing.
 
Mushrooms - could this be becuase they are very transient and can appear very quickly after the greens have been inspected and cut prior to play - as they can be just under the surface not visible then within a very short time - whoosh - a mushroom appears apparently from no-where. Or do our rules apply to plants and a mushroom aint a plant
 
Mushrooms - could this be becuase they are very transient and can appear very quickly after the greens have been inspected and cut prior to play - as they can be just under the surface not visible then within a very short time - whoosh - a mushroom appears apparently from no-where. Or do our rules apply to plants and a mushroom aint a plant

Check out Decision 16-1a/15 http://www.randa.org/en/Rules-and-A...cisionId=931B96BB-E7BB-4110-9E9B-7343F8815A68

Mushroom growing on putting green - does player get relief? No - but call to Committee justified.
 
Top