Call them on it or let it slide

I did this in a KO match last year , caring for the course whilst I waited for green to clear. Was playing against Comps Chairman and he thought I'd played as was on other side of fairway. So was bit surprised when I actually played my shot out :) Explained the recently changed rule and we moved on.
 
Worth remembering too that - in Matchplay - enforcing a breach of the rules is not compulsory!

That's interesting and good. Thanks for that info bit.

Reminds me of the story of Tiger Woods and Mark O'Mara playing a friendly matchplay and Tiger didn't give him a 2 foot or like IIRC. And Mark told him if he ever did that again, that they would not be friends or something like that.

In a friendly it is a friendly, so I think it was not important at all. Not usual in a friends with son, I will say chuck the ball out of the trees or like!!
 
so are you allowed to rake a bunker before you have played your shot from it, juts because the last person in there didn't rake it before leaving?

Yes (conditionally)! Since 1 Jan 2012

From the 'Exceptions' to Rule 13-4 (Ball in Hazard - Prohibited Actions) - from 1/1/2012.

2. At any time, the player may smooth sand or soil in a hazard provided this is for the sole purpose of caring for the course and nothing is done to breach Rule 13-2 with respect to his next stroke. If a ball played from a hazard is outside the hazard after the stroke, the player may smooth sand or soil in the hazard without restriction.
 
Bit of a funny one. how can you tell where your failed bunker escape finishes up? how close to you are you allowed to care for the course?


I quite often 'care for the bunkers' while waiting to have my turn. there is usually no end of care needed due to thoughtless twonks.
 
I guess it depends on the circumstances. In a perfectly flat fairway bunker I wouldn't bat an eyelid to most areas, in a high sided/green side pot bunker I'd take exception to pretty much anyway in that bunker if you started raking.
 
I guess it depends on the circumstances. In a perfectly flat fairway bunker I wouldn't bat an eyelid to most areas, in a high sided/green side pot bunker I'd take exception to pretty much anyway in that bunker if you started raking.

Its not if you would take exception. Surely there is a rule?
 
Not exactly sure I understand the not being allowed to fix a part of the bunker where your failed bunker exit may land.


Heres one for you.


You are about to chip over a bunker to a tight pin. Before you play you notice some chap has done a jig in the bunker then bugggered off and left it. can you fix this before you play your shot knowing fine rightly that is where you are likely to end up?
 
Today in a friendly match play " better ball pairs"
Our opponent hit his ball into a fairway bunker (his pp was already out the hole)
Opponent was stood in the bunker ready to take his shot but had to wait for the green to clear. As there was LOADS of footprints from other golfers in the bunker he decided to tidy the bunker up by raking just about all the bunker (doing a fantastic job too)

The bit in bold is the key sentence here because as people have said, unless he raked part of the bunker that was either on his line or in his area of intended swing or stance he hasn't broken any rule. Your wording seems to suggest he did rake those areas though. If I was playing in a genuine friendly with some mates, I wouldn't have said a thing until after the hole and more in a ribbing/jokey way depending on the outcome of the hole
 
In a friendly match surely just simply pointing out a breach of rules is enough, i find that "careful mate we are not going to pull you up but some might", is enough and then the game carries on and everyone can enjoy the match, different in a competition, but a knock with friends is more about the company than the golf and if i was pulled up for this i would think twice about going out again with that person.

Good reply !
 
Let it slide... its a friendly after all

There's a bunch of things I wouldn't call someone on in a friendly game, placing on fairway & using clubhead to move ball is one. Not explicitly stating 'provisional' is another
 
The bit in bold is the key sentence here because as people have said, unless he raked part of the bunker that was either on his line or in his area of intended swing or stance he hasn't broken any rule. Your wording seems to suggest he did rake those areas though. If I was playing in a genuine friendly with some mates, I wouldn't have said a thing until after the hole and more in a ribbing/jokey way depending on the outcome of the hole

The wording suggests the opposite to me - the only thing we are told is that he didn't rake all of it. Suggests there was a reason he didn't, and logically it could well revolve around the rules!

Anyhow it doesn't matter in the wider context and hopefully some people gave learnt something from the thread.
 
Worth remembering too that - in Matchplay - enforcing a breach of the rules is not compulsory!
I thought it was a breach of the rules to agree to waive a rule..? Penalty: disqualification of both players. As this was only a friendly game though, I wouldn't make a big deal of it, personally.
 
Top