Call them on it or let it slide

hovis

Tour Winner
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
6,265
Visit site
Today in a friendly match play " better ball pairs"
Our opponent hit his ball into a fairway bunker (his pp was already out the hole)
Opponent was stood in the bunker ready to take his shot but had to wait for the green to clear. As there was LOADS of footprints from other golfers in the bunker he decided to tidy the bunker up by raking just about all the bunker (doing a fantastic job too)

My pp said "he cant do that, we should call him on it means we've won the hole ". I wanted to let it slide for the sake of good spirit and sportsmanship. After all, he was caring for the course. However, my pp made him aware of his mistake and this ment he lost the hole.

I know the typical answer is "rules is rules" but just wanted a general feeling towards it. I felt genuinely bad for the guy
 
There are plenty of reasons you still can't rake a bunker when you are in and the rules detail them. Caring for the course is not a blanket ruling that allows you to do it. For instance if your raking an area where your ball could end up for your next shot then it's still a penalty (has nobody ever hit a lip and remained in the bunker?)
 
Usual judgemental comments.

There is nothing wrong in expecting fellow golfers to play by the rules.
 
Harsh. Get your mate to look up the last set of rule changes... Think he needs to apologise...

When the new rule come about it said it was to cover exceptional circumstances such as being in a bunker 200 yards long, hitting your shot 150 yards but landing in the same bunker. You cant be expected to walk all the way back to rake your foot print. Or.... If you enter a bunker well away from you ball to get the rake thus being able to rake your initial entrance. However, a golfer raking every square inch of the bunker does not really fall in the relms of the new rule. What would stop you from raking every bunker before you take your shot and just say you was caring for the course
 
When the new rule come about it said it was to cover exceptional circumstances such as being in a bunker 200 yards long, hitting your shot 150 yards but landing in the same bunker. You cant be expected to walk all the way back to rake your foot print. Or.... If you enter a bunker well away from you ball to get the rake thus being able to rake your initial entrance. However, a golfer raking every square inch of the bunker does not really fall in the relms of the new rule. What would stop you from raking every bunker before you take your shot and just say you was caring for the course

As long as you are caring for the course, and do not touch your line of play or improve your lie etc you are fine.

I would take the original words of the post with pinch of salt given the obvious lack of rule awareness shown.
 
In a friendly match surely just simply pointing out a breach of rules is enough, i find that "careful mate we are not going to pull you up but some might", is enough and then the game carries on and everyone can enjoy the match, different in a competition, but a knock with friends is more about the company than the golf and if i was pulled up for this i would think twice about going out again with that person.
 
As has been said it's probably not worth calling and spoiling a friendly match providing they are not raking near the ball.

If it happens to me I will often mention it afterwards in the clubhouse in the context of "if you were playing in a club match or medal you might get called on this". A quiet word is normally accepted and often appreciated - especially with players who are new to the game.
 
so are you allowed to rake a bunker before you have played your shot from it, juts because the last person in there didn't rake it before leaving?
 
Top