Ball resting against a rake outside of a bunker

woody69

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Sep 7, 2012
Messages
2,676
Visit site
Playing a friendly match with a mate of mine yesterday, when one of my approach shots appeared to go into a greenside bunker. When I got to my ball I could see it was actually just resting against a rake that someone had left outside of the bunker and had not gone in. I said the rake was a moveable obstruction and I should be entitled to move it and if my ball moves, replace it without penalty. He said if it moved it was a 2 shot penalty and I had to play it where it ended up, i.e. more than likely in the bunker. Was I right?

As it was just a friendly game, I removed the rake and it just stayed where it was so was able to play it.

What would have been the ruling if it had rolled into the bunker and I was unable to replace it, i.e. it kept rolling down into the bunker?
 
Choke down on the grip and hit down firmly to snap the rake handle, don't quit on the shot.

Or, mark ball, remove rake, replace ball if moving the rake makes it move - throw rake in the trees so it doesn't interfere again ;)
 
What would have been the ruling if it had rolled into the bunker and I was unable to replace it, i.e. it kept rolling down into the bunker?

Rule 20-3d, Woody. If the ball rolls away twice you then find the nearest place, not nearer the hole, where the ball when placed stays at rest.
 
Rakes should never be in the bunker. As pointed out, if the ball moves while moving the rake outside a bunker, replace without penalty. If the ball comes to rest against a rake in a bunker and the ball moves while removing the rake, penalty.
 
Rakes should never be in the bunker. As pointed out, if the ball moves while moving the rake outside a bunker, replace without penalty. If the ball comes to rest against a rake in a bunker and the ball moves while removing the rake, penalty.

Where did you get that from? There is no difference in a hazard: if the ball moves while you are removing a movable obstruction, you must replace and there is no penalty. See Rule 24-1a
http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-24/
 
Last edited:
Rakes should never be in the bunker. As pointed out, if the ball moves while moving the rake outside a bunker, replace without penalty. If the ball comes to rest against a rake in a bunker and the ball moves while removing the rake, penalty.

I think you have this situation in mind.

However, in practice, players who leave rakes in bunkers frequently leave them at the side which tends to stop a ball rolling into the flat part of the bunker, resulting in a much more difficult shot than would otherwise have been the case. This is most prevalent at a course where the bunkers are small. When the ball comes to rest on or against a rake in the bunker and the player must proceed under Rule 24-1, it may not be possible to replace the ball on the same spot or find a spot in the bunker which is not nearer the hole - see Decision 20-3d/2
which in summary says:
If it will not remain at rest, he should proceed under the stroke-and-distance option of the unplayable ball Rule (Rule 28a) or, in equity (Rule 1-4), drop the ball, under penalty of one stroke, outside the bunker, keeping the point where the ball lay directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped.
 
I think you have this situation in mind.

However, in practice, players who leave rakes in bunkers frequently leave them at the side which tends to stop a ball rolling into the flat part of the bunker, resulting in a much more difficult shot than would otherwise have been the case. This is most prevalent at a course where the bunkers are small. When the ball comes to rest on or against a rake in the bunker and the player must proceed under Rule 24-1, it may not be possible to replace the ball on the same spot or find a spot in the bunker which is not nearer the hole - see Decision 20-3d/2
which in summary says:
If it will not remain at rest, he should proceed under the stroke-and-distance option of the unplayable ball Rule (Rule 28a) or, in equity (Rule 1-4), drop the ball, under penalty of one stroke, outside the bunker, keeping the point where the ball lay directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped.

Had the potential for this on Saturday as ball was resting against rake in bunker - as club prescribes - on slight up-slope. Sunk the bunker shot for a birdie! :whoo:
 
If we don't leave rakes in the bunkers , they go bananas. :rofl:

Encountered a comatosed neb in one of the bunkers on course near you - pretty sure it was Belshill - once. The one that you can see Motherwell Stadium (I think - or it may have been a large industrial site) from the fairway - which had channels running across it at the time too 11? 13?

Would be interested to see what the ruling would have been if either of us had gone in it. Definitely wasn't a 'Rake' - and it was only about 11:30!
 
Last edited:
Encountered a comatosed neb in one of the bunkers on course near you - pretty sure it was Belshill - once. The one that you can see Motherwell Stadium (I think - or it may have been a large industrial site) from the fairway - which had channels running across it at the time too 11? 13?

Would be interested to see what the ruling would have been if either of us had gone in it. Definitely wasn't a 'Rake' - and it was only about 11:30!
That NEB? JAKEY MAYBE, BUT WAS MOST LIKELY ONE OF OUR GREEN STAFF HAVING A REST.:rofl:
Just watch it Winston , remember the NEDS AND DEVIL DOGS THAT GOT YOU IN STILL GAME , we have them at Bellshill now so if you want a game , your WECLOME,. :rofl::whistle:
 
Last edited:
Top