Ball plugged in the bank of a bunker

ColchesterFC

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Jan 28, 2013
Messages
7,234
Visit site
Played today and my PP hit his tee shot on a Par 3 which we all assumed had gone in a greenside bunker. When we got there the ball had plugged in the bank to the side of the bunker. Local rule in place to allow a free drop from a plugged ball but after dropping twice and the ball rolling into the bunker he then tried to place the ball on the bank but it was impossible to get it to stay in place without rolling back into the bunker.

As it was only a friendly game we agreed that he could drop behind the bunker and play from there but what is the correct ruling in this situation?
 
The ball it must be placed at the nearest spot where it can be placed at rest that is not nearer the hole and not in a hazard.

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica Neue, Helvetica, sans-serif]Rule 20-3d(i)[/FONT]
 
Top