Ball embedded on the green.

Well first of all any drop that goes outside two club lengths must be dropped. Any ball that goes nearer the hole must be replaced , what if the "rub of the green" has the ball rolling closer to the hole.

The ball must be putted from where the ball came to rest on the green unless relief is needed to be taken.

It's not a drop though.

Ok, although we have the answer already I'll throw this scenario which I'm sure you know the answer to anyway which kinda formed part of my earlier thinking.

1 - you are on the putting green and mark your ball, after replacing your ball the ball is then blown by the wind nearer (or further) from the whole, what do you do?
 
It's not a drop though.

Ok, although we have the answer already I'll throw this scenario which I'm sure you know the answer to anyway which kinda formed part of my earlier thinking.

1 - you are on the putting green and mark your ball, after replacing your ball the ball is then blown by the wind nearer (or further) from the whole, what do you do?

Replace it back to where it was before the wind blew the ball.
 
As stated, my thinking was based on this rule.

Are your seriously telling you've never heard of the phrase rub of the green in golf rules?

Yes I have never heard of "rub of the green" in golf rules.

Im not a rules guru.
 
Yes I have never heard of "rub of the green" in golf rules.

Im not a rules guru.

Why so hostile, relax, life's too short. Geez, people are so strung up on this forum sometimes, must be the short nights and lack of golf.

Freddie Couples had his ball lifted from the 17th green and dropped in the water at sawgrass, this was considered a rub of the green.

So if you've never heard of the phrase then why call it nonsense if you don't know?
 
The expression itself is not unknown but more it's place in the rules
 
Why so hostile, relax, life's too short. Geez, people are so strung up on this forum sometimes, must be the short nights and lack of golf.

Freddie Couples had his ball lifted from the 17th green and dropped in the water at sawgrass, this was considered a rub of the green.

So if you've never heard of the phrase then why call it nonsense if you don't know?


Ball lifted on 17th ? By what exactly
 
A birdl, he the proceeded to the DZ, dropped a ball and holed it for a 3.

It's a well known scenario, well for most I suppose.


You will have to jog my memory about the Couples incident ? Which year ? Why didn't he play the ball where it lied before the bird took it as per the rules ? Like this guy

No. 5 – Johnathan Livingston Hazard
In 1986, Brad Fabel hit a hole in one on the Sawgrass 17th, and the hole waited until 1998 to get its revenge. Fabel got his at the 17th, not from the fast run of the green or the water, but by the wildlife. After a nice shot that left him on the green is good position, Fabel began his walk around to the green, noticing a seagull starting to peck around his ball.

With disbelief in his eyes, and cheers from the crowd, the bird kept pecking and moving the ball around, to the delight of everyone watching. But just as Brad approached, the bird picked the ball up into its mouth, flew off the green, and dropped the ball into the drink.

The ruling placed a ball back in the original location, but Fabel ended up with a three-putt to finish out the hole.



I know Couples got a hole in three on the hole
 
A birdl, he the proceeded to the DZ, dropped a ball and holed it for a 3.

It's a well known scenario, well for most I suppose.

you seem to be managing to mix and match the rules better than most here - led on my SocketRocket's flawed contribution!

in simple terms, and more for those who may be getting confused

1. as already quoted, if a ball fails to remain on it's spot when replaced you are required to establish the nearest point, no nearer the hole, where it will - and place it there.
2. once a ball has been placed, and is stationary at rest, if it subsequently moves as a result of the wind you would play it from where it comes to rest - in exactly the same way as if a ball you played and thought had come to rest started to move again 'on it's own'.
3. if a ball at rest is caused to move by most other things you are required to replace it - best to read Rule 18 when you have a moment as it's a little long to quote here!

As to the original post, and Gary's question, repairing the pitchmark such that a replaced ball will stay at rest in such a situation would be a breach of 13-2 because you aren't simply repairing damage and would loose the protection of that exception.
 
The bird incident is on it too but it wasn't Couples, it was Steve Lowery.


It was a guy called Brad Fabel and he was allowed to place a ball where the original was - not have to go to the drop zone as a poster earlier suggested.

It's an amusing incident
 
Top