sev112
Tour Winner
Here's the definition of anchoring
Note 1: The club is anchored “directly†when the player intentionally holds the club or a gripping hand in contact with any part of his body, except that the player may hold the club or a gripping hand against a hand or forearm.
Note 2: An “anchor point†exists when the player intentionally holds a forearm in contact with any part of his body to establish a gripping hand as a stable point around which the other hand may swing the club.
If the player's hand or arm is not in contact with the body then that is far enough, there's no minimum distance required. There's no interpretation required. Of course, if someone is attempting to conceal the fact that they are anchoring then that will be a problem, but a different problem.
Actually I find the related link is better :
http://www.randa.org/en/Rules-and-Amateur-Status/Anchoring/Prohibited-And-Permitted-Strokes.aspx
However , I agree, one can easily be in a legal position and then an illegal position with a very minor movement
For example my putting style has the inside of my forearms just near the elbows touching my sides (v sim to how Nicklaus putted) .
This is deemed legal - as long as my hands are in a traditional position on the grip. If I turn my right hand over to a "claw" style, then this is illegal (because the R&a say this is not traditional hand position in this specific case)!
So if I putt in a claw style, all of my FCs need to precisely know the rules and guidance , and be able to tell whether my inside left forearm is touching my side or not !!!
Then they need to be able to prove this beyond reasonable doubt, and then persuade a member of the committee who wasn't there at the time.
Looking forward to judgements on that !
You can give it a go if you like