A bunker question

Thread starter #1

chrisd

Major Champion
Joined
Sep 22, 2009
Messages
23,913
Location
Kent
I'm sure this has been asked before and I was only asked it today as the guys concerned earlier in the week hadn't got an answer as to whether they acted correctly

Playing foursomes (not that the format matters) the player teed off on a par 3 (18th) and hit into a greenside bunker that had a high front and , as it was the Captains charity bunker, a small sign was at the top of the bunker but inside it. The ball which normally would have dropped back down the face of the bunker was held at the top by the sign. There was no way that the could drop the ball for it to stay at the top face without the sign holding it and so they decided to pick up the ball , remove the sign and play the ball where it came to rest after a drop and it rolled down the face.

Did they act correctly?
 

rulefan

Tour Winner
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
12,162
Did it match this description?

  • A lip, wall or face at the edge of a prepared area and consisting of soil, grass, stacked turf or artificial materials,
 
Thread starter #5

chrisd

Major Champion
Joined
Sep 22, 2009
Messages
23,913
Location
Kent
Did it match this description?

  • A lip, wall or face at the edge of a prepared area and consisting of soil, grass, stacked turf or artificial materials,
A face but wholly consisting of compacted sand, and below the level of the grass top lip
 

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Joined
May 20, 2017
Messages
11,727
Location
Yeovil
What was wrong was dropping the ball. There then would be a penalty for playing from a wrong place.


They should have marked the position of the ball, removed the sign and replaced the ball if it moved*


*If the ball again does not stay on that spot, the player must replace the ball by placing it on the nearest spot where the ball will stay at rest, but with these limits depending on where the original spot is located:

  • The spot must not be nearer the hole.
  • Original Spot in General Area. The nearest spot must be in the general area.
  • Original Spot in Bunker or Penalty Area. The nearest spot must be either in the same bunker or in the same penalty area.
bullet points two and three are why clarification is need as to whether or it was still in the bunker.

There is no limit on how many times it is tried to find a a spot where the ball will stay at rest and it may well be at the bottom of the bunker.


Edited 20.12
 
Last edited:
Thread starter #7

chrisd

Major Champion
Joined
Sep 22, 2009
Messages
23,913
Location
Kent
images.jpeg.jpg

The ball was apparently held by the sign. This is just a photo I found and downloaded, the sign might have not been in exactly that position and the ball was wholly on the sandy area.
 

rulie

Head Pro
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Messages
1,315
Correct answer is in post #6. The sign is a movable obstruction, the ball was in the bunker.
 
Thread starter #9

chrisd

Major Champion
Joined
Sep 22, 2009
Messages
23,913
Location
Kent
Thanks guys - your answers were exactly what I told the player when he ran it by me today, but he didnt think my explanation was right so I said I'd check
 

Colin L

Tour Winner
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
4,722
Location
Edinburgh
Just to clarify a point in post #6. It is would be good practice in this situation to mark your ball before removing the obstruction but it is not a requirement.
 
Top