Would a 'better' driver make any difference?

rksquire

Head Pro
Visit site
I started playing Golf about 7 months ago and the bug has bitten. At that time however I wasn't entirely sure if it would be an infrequent thing or if it would become an obsession, so I basically bought a beginners set of clubs (Dunlop Tour and a Slazenger Big Ezee 10.5 degree driver - reviews were mixed but a combination of budget and a 1-stop package convinced me).

It has now become an obsession, and whilst the clubs are fine and get me around the course I feel as if I need some advice on whether I should be investing in new (or better 2nd hand) equipment. I'm particularly interested in the driver - with a lot of practice and some lessons I’ve improved dramatically – to the extent that I feel as if I can’t get anything more out it. When everything comes together, my drives consistently carry about 200yards.

So I guess my question is, if I was to invest £100-150 (I’ve joined a club as I’ve figured practice is more important at the minute and as such need to limit my budget) in a new or 2[SUP]nd[/SUP] hand driver would this better equipment help in squeezing out a few more yards whilst I continue to work on my technique and swing? Thanks!

duncan mackie

Money List Winner
Visit site
as long as it's appropriate to you in terms of loft shaft and any inbuilt bias the simple answer is yes

I wouldn't budget beyond the bottom end of you listed numbers - even buying new I haven't paid more that £99.99 for a driver - so take advice from who ever is teaching/guiding you, try a few other peoples drivers at the club over time, and take it from there.

where abouts are you playing (when the snow clears obviously!)?

pbrown7582

Money List Winner
Visit site
Hello and welcome, a new driver may help it will increase your confidence a new shiney always does!
Plenty of decent clubs around for your budget would suggest trying before you buy too.

rksquire

Head Pro
Visit site