backwoodsman
Tour Winner
If I had called it a “strange notionâ€, perhaps the irony would have been more obvious?
Colin, you should realised at the time of writing the post that some on here don't do irony
If I had called it a “strange notionâ€, perhaps the irony would have been more obvious?
A ball is out of bounds when all of it lies out of bounds. A player may stand out of bounds to play a ball lying within bounds.

This isn't strictly true, is it?
I thought a ball could be sat on the marked OOB line or an imaginary line between 2 stakes and if the arc of the ball was towards the OOB then it was OOB but if the arc was towards the course even though it was on the line, it was deemed in?!
Hence in the picture I just found, A is in and C is out, but your stating that the ball has to be "all out", that statement is not right!
View attachment 19164
Del is quite correct. The ball must be wholly over the line. Try thinking of the boundary line as having no width whereas a painted line does. The whole of the painted line lies OOB and so the actual boundary is the course edge of the painted line. Now look at the picture again. Which ball, if any, has fully crossed the edge and is OOB ?
A is OK, B & C OOB's? or am i thick?
Paul, you may be thick for all I know, but I wouldn’t be so impolite as to comment.
Perfectly sharp, however, in this one. A is on the course; B & C are out of bounds as you say.
Paul, you may be thick for all I know, but I wouldn’t be so impolite as to comment.
Perfectly sharp, however, in this one. A is on the course; B & C are out of bounds as you say.
We have an internal out of bounds (added to stop people cutting a corner by playing onto another fairway). The post that define it are white on one side but green on the other as OOB only applies on one hole. So confusingly you can remove the post on one hole (green facing) but not on the other (white facing).
Causes confusion to visitors on some members.
Ive heard of a course with in air out of bounds.. so even if your ball travels over said area its OOB even if it lands back in
Ive heard of a course with in air out of bounds.. so even if your ball travels over said area its OOB even if it lands back in
Just when you thought you'd heard them all......Ive heard of a course with in air out of bounds.. so even if your ball travels over said area its OOB even if it lands back in
Ive heard of a course with in air out of bounds.. so even if your ball travels over said area its OOB even if it lands back in
Assume as per the decision it was an attempt to stop people cutting the corner off a dogleg.
By whom or how would it be judged that the ball had gone out of bounds in the air? Generally a ball has to lie out of bounds to be OOB!I've played a course in Germany called GC Erlangen where the 1st hole is a C shaped dogleg going around the greenkeeping shed with the the green near the clubhouse who have "aerial OoB" for that reason. Might post a picture a bit later.
Still an unauthorised local rule mind.
By whom or how would it be judged that the ball had gone out of bounds in the air? Generally a ball has to lie out of bounds to be OOB!
I would think it is ok by the rules of golf to open the gate to play if the ball is in bounds unless there is a local rule saying you cannot as you would in theory be trespassing on land not owned/leased by the club which could cause the club bother.Can I open a gate to play a shot?
Scenario - ball rests up against OOB line on edge of course, right up against the fence - but on closer inspection the section of the fence is actually a gate. Am I permitted to open the gate in order to stand OOB and play my shot? The ball was 100% in play.
Was only a bounce game but interested to know nonetheless.