What yardage am I losing with 13 degree driver?

janmolby

Assistant Pro
Visit site
I have a 13 degree Callaway X460 driver which I have recently started to hit pretty well but I was wondering what yardage I could be losing because it's 13 degrees rather than say 10.5 degrees? I have no idea how long I actually hit it but if I hit it say 200 yeards, how much further would I expect the ball to go if I used the same club but with 10.5 degrees & hit it exactly the same?

I have no intention of changing, just wondering.

Curls

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Its about spin rate and trajectory, you might lose quite a bit of distance if you hit a 10.5 degree driver 5 feet off the ground and it hurtles into the fairway 100 yards away :)

Next time you're out with your mates/on the range as to use one and see if it's any better. Remember too that the less loft on the face, the easier it is to slice it into the car park.

chris661

Money List Winner
Visit site
You are in Letterkenny if I remember Emmet, go along to either Francie or to city of Derry and get a go on a launch monitor and see what's what. Was talking to Seamus Clinton and I think he is getting an indoor set up as well. But you could also ask the question how much are you gaining using a 13 degree driver ;)

iku

Head Pro
Visit site
Hi was using a standard R9 with 10.5 degree loft and averaging around 250 yds.

I now use a R9 Superdeep TP 9.5. A bit more difficult to hit but am constantly around 280-300. Funny enough, I was slicing the 10.5 much more than the superdeep. The superdeep has only two possibilities for me: perfectly straight and far or monstruos top spin and 150 yds max. Never slices never hooks.

However, my learning curve is still going up so for sure I also got better in the past few months.

janmolby

Assistant Pro
Visit site