What should my next club purchase be?

jdpjamesp

Q-School Graduate
www.jdpalmer.co.uk
Hey everyone. Hope I've found the right place for this. New to the forum and new to golf. Just started playing this summer.
I've got a decent set of irons (Mizuno MX 17, 1 inch longer than standard shaft) and a Wilson Harmonized putter. I'm hoping to gradually add clubs, and am thinking a longer club would probably be my best bet as next purchase to add some driving distance. But the big question is, should I go straight for driver, or would I be better suited looking at hybrids or woods and leaving the driver for another day?
All and any opinions gratefully received.

Pin-seeker

Visit site
I'm no expert,but I'd suggest a 5w.
Good for tee & fairway.
I love my Ping g20.
Some prefer a low lofted hybrid,but I'm not really a fan.

G

guest100718

Has to be a driver... so many bargains out there too. TM, Callway, ping all under a ton

Wev

Visit site
I take it you got them off eBay or off a mate and the set goes 3i-SW?

I would ditch your long irons for now (3, 4 and maybe 5) and get a 3 or 4 hybrid, easier to hit than driver, versatile and you'll likely hit the hybrid further and more consistently due to the higher loft decreasing the impact of your likely face/path issues (90% of starting golfers slice).

When starting out there's not much point hitting a driver 200 yards forward and 50 yards right into the trees, a 3 hybrid would go just as far and stay more central if you've got face/ path issues.

It would help you to get something new/ semi-fitted at AG etc but this would also be costly. If cost is an issue you can get something like a G20 3 hybrid for about £40 off eBay. Then look at the driver once you can tame that.

Alternatively if you've got £200 to spend you can get a relatively recent hybrid and driver semi-fitted at AG etc.

Lessons and fitted clubs is always money well spent.

jdpjamesp

Q-School Graduate
www.jdpalmer.co.uk
Thanks Wev. The detail is much appreciated.