Using putter to line up putt

hambugerpete

Well-known member
Joined
May 11, 2024
Messages
1,561
Visit site
A friend uses his putter to line up by putting the toe down behind his marker then the top of the grip resting on the green on his line, he then line his ball up under the putter. Is this ok ?
 
The Rules permit touching the line of putt to indicate a line for putting, but prohibit “setting an object down” to indicate a line for putting. “Setting an object down” means that the object is no longer being touched/held by the person.
 
Rule 10.2b

Pointing Out Line of Play for Ball on Putting Green. .....The player or caddie must not set an object down anywhere on or off the putting green to show the line of play. This is not allowed even if that object is removed before the stroke is made.
 
That's why I'm asking 😂
As Rulie said

(3) No Setting Down Object to Help with Aiming, Taking Stance or Swinging.​

A player must not set an object down to help with aiming or to help in taking a stance for the stroke to be made (such as a club set down on the ground to show where the player should aim or position their feet).​

“Set an object down” means that the object is in contact with the ground and the player is not touching the object.
 
That’s a very grey area.
It’s on the ground both ends.
The only reason to hold it is to stop it falling over.

If he lets go for even a second to Adjust the ball is it a penalty.?
 
Top