• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Urban Myth Golf Rules

But if you drop in the right hand side you may not get full relief becasue of the fence, if the fence wasnt there then I see no reason why you dont drop in the rough.

What's this 'full relief' concept? Been on some dodgy sites?

NPR is exactly that:

The "nearest point of relief" is the reference point for taking relief without penalty from interference by an immovable obstruction (Rule 24-2), an abnormal ground condition (Rule 25-1) or a wrong putting green (Rule 25-3).
It is the point on the course nearest to where the ball lies:
(i) that is not nearer the hole, and
(ii) where, if the ball were so positioned, no interference by the condition from which relief is sought would exist for the stroke the player would have made from the original position if the condition were not there.
Note: In order to determine the nearest point of relief accurately, the player should use the club with which he would have made his next stroke if the condition were not there to simulate the address position, direction of play and swing for such a stroke.

While the boundary fence is not the 'interference' from which the relief is being sought, if the ball cannot be drop inbounds (ie a ball dropped exactly on the NPR and not moving) then relief on that side is not possible - dropped ball must be re-dropped if it comes to rest OOB. I don't believe that is the case here, though I guess it's reasonably close - within the 1 club length.

When marking GUR, folk need to be aware of this sort of thing. It's likely that, especially where LR requires relief, nearby issues - like trees - should be included in the GUR area.
 
Last edited:
Wiping your ball on the green?

Hitting your opponent’s ball back on the green after conceding a putt while you still have your putt.
Standing behind your fellow players putt to get a line.

ide tell you to move if you stood behind me.
 
things people have tried to call a penalty on against me...

I raked my footprints after collecting the rake from opposite end to my ball in a large bunker.
Held the flag in the air while tapping in a putt.
reached over the hole and tapped in toward me.
Didnt mark my ball when I picked it up to take a penalty drop
Swung my putter over my ball in a pretend swing after missing a tiddler.
 
Playing in our midweek SF today and a FC was telling me about a recent round he had where he had played a second ball from the tee, he had not declared it to be a provisional before making his stroke. His FC had told him he had to replay the shot has he hadn't informed him it was a provisional :ooo: :)

The rule book is free for god's sake
 
things people have tried to call a penalty on against me...

I raked my footprints after collecting the rake from opposite end to my ball in a large bunker.
Held the flag in the air while tapping in a putt.
reached over the hole and tapped in toward me.
Didnt mark my ball when I picked it up to take a penalty drop
Swung my putter over my ball in a pretend swing after missing a tiddler.

18 months ago they'd have been correct.

There are quite a few golfers 'living in the past' about!
 
What's this 'full relief' concept? Been on some dodgy sites?

NPR is exactly that:

The "nearest point of relief" is the reference point for taking relief without penalty from interference by an immovable obstruction (Rule 24-2), an abnormal ground condition (Rule 25-1) or a wrong putting green (Rule 25-3).
It is the point on the course nearest to where the ball lies:
(i) that is not nearer the hole, and
(ii) where, if the ball were so positioned, no interference by the condition from which relief is sought would exist for the stroke the player would have made from the original position if the condition were not there.
Note: In order to determine the nearest point of relief accurately, the player should use the club with which he would have made his next stroke if the condition were not there to simulate the address position, direction of play and swing for such a stroke.

While the boundary fence is not the 'interference' from which the relief is being sought, if the ball cannot be drop inbounds (ie a ball dropped exactly on the NPR and not moving) then relief on that side is not possible - dropped ball must be re-dropped if it comes to rest OOB. I don't believe that is the case here, though I guess it's reasonably close - within the 1 club length.

When marking GUR, folk need to be aware of this sort of thing. It's likely that, especially where LR requires relief, nearby issues - like trees - should be included in the GUR area.

OK - the clarification required is that a player is able to take a stance off and to the right of the track.

So given that the NPR is the point where the ball must trhen be dropped if the player is to be able to play the shot intended from that new stance position (relief from track for stance taken), the player identifies the drop point (NPR) by taking his stance and making to address the ball and swing unimpeded by that from which relief is being taken.

However, in my scenario the player cannot identify the NPR as the OOB course boundary fence is too close to where the player must stand whilst taking relief and obstructs the players intended swing, without the fence actually being there the NPR would be OOB.

So where the NPR is OOB my player can take relief to the LHS of the track?

If the NPR was very close (1") to the OOB fence then that is tough - the ball can still be dropped within one club length of the NPR and in bounds - not able to take 'one club length' relief - but that is a limit not an entitlement?

If the ball, when dropped, bounces so that when addressed the players stance is again on the track (from which relief is being taken) then after 2 further attempts with the same outcome, then the ball can be placed atthe NPR?

I assume the player, if he so wishes, can chose to take a stance on the track he is taking relief from when determininig the NPR?
 
So where the NPR is OOB my player can take relief to the LHS of the track?

If the NPR was very close (1") to the OOB fence then that is tough - the ball can still be dropped within one club length of the NPR and in bounds - not able to take 'one club length' relief - but that is a limit not an entitlement?

If the ball, when dropped, bounces so that when addressed the players stance is again on the track (from which relief is being taken) then after 2 further attempts with the same outcome, then the ball can be placed atthe NPR?

I assume the player, if he so wishes, can chose to take a stance on the track he is taking relief from when determininig the NPR?

yes

yes

no. it's placed where it first made contact with the course on the second drop. If that point is not a valid relief point (he's still standing on the path) then the ball has to be re-dropped all over again, until it either stays at a valid relief point or lands at one on the second drop!.

no - that wouldn't be relief.
 
I assume the player, if he so wishes, can chose to take a stance on the track he is taking relief from when determininig the NPR?

No, if the player wants relief it has to be FULL relief from what it is he's looking for relief from.

It sounds like they should all have to drop to the right (in the space available)... and too bad that their next swing will be impeded by the fence!! I'd play it off the path... with a putter if I have to.

If there's space to stand off the path to the right with the ball far enough away from you to address it then THAT'S your NPR. If you can't then make a swing because a OOB fence is in the way (or an oak tree) then that's too bad.
 
No, if the player wants relief it has to be FULL relief from what it is he's looking for relief from.

It sounds like they should all have to drop to the right (in the space available)... and too bad that their next swing will be impeded by the fence!! I'd play it off the path... with a putter if I have to.

If there's space to stand off the path to the right with the ball far enough away from you to address it then THAT'S your NPR. If you can't then make a swing because a OOB fence is in the way (or an oak tree) then that's too bad.

Duncan's answers do it for me. But just the last point here. The point is that by standing clear of the track you are facing the OOB fence (which runs parallel with the track) and are only let's say 2ft from the OOB fence - so you can't make an addresss and swing to determine your NPR. But even if you could make an address and swing (if the fence wasn't there) that 'NPR' would by OOB. I do though understand the general point you are making.
 
yes

yes

no. it's placed where it first made contact with the course on the second drop. If that point is not a valid relief point (he's still standing on the path) then the ball has to be re-dropped all over again, until it either stays at a valid relief point or lands at one on the second drop!.

no - that wouldn't be relief.

So to take advantage of 'relief' from such as my track - then relief for ALL of stance, swing and lie must be taken - yoiu can't cherry pick.
 
i ve witnessed or been told;

2 shot penaulty for holding the flag and tapping in!

you could take practice swings grounding the club in a water hazard, because there was no water in it.!

if you hit the ball straight out into a water hazard you can drop a ball inline with where it ends up!

You can drop out of a bunker if its not been raked!!!
 
Duncan's answers do it for me. But just the last point here. The point is that by standing clear of the track you are facing the OOB fence (which runs parallel with the track) and are only let's say 2ft from the OOB fence - so you can't make an addresss and swing to determine your NPR. But even if you could make an address and swing (if the fence wasn't there) that 'NPR' would by OOB. I do though understand the general point you are making.

This makes a difference.!

NPR cannot force a drop to fall OOB - and it must be redropped if it rolls OOB.

So it (2 feet) seems like it means there is no NPR on that side of the path. Even with a wedge, the ball is over 3 feet away from the back of my my heel. JO's last point was really about the subsequent interference of the OOB fence/tree - whic I agree would be tough luck!

So to take advantage of 'relief' from such as my track - then relief for ALL of stance, swing and lie must be taken - yoiu can't cherry pick.

Indeed, can't cherry pick - but unsure what 'and lie' you mean.
 
Last edited:
Top