Trouble in the bunker

lex!

Challenge Tour Pro
Joined
Nov 27, 2013
Messages
565
Visit site
When I was out yesterday, my ball landed in the sand and it came to rest right next to a tee peg that was stuck in there. Am guessing some previous 'type' must have used it as a marker. Am I right in thinking that I just have to play my ball as it lies?
 
no

the tee peg is a moveable obstruction not a loose impediment so you are permitted to remove it if you wish.

if there's any risk of the ball moving when you do so it's best to mark your ball's position (with another tee peg :)) then remove the MO, then your marker.
 
This question is a good example of how a literal reading of the rules can solve many problems. The definition of obstruction says: "An “obstruction’’ is anything artificial..." It then lists examples and 3 exceptions.

Note this definition does not differentiate between movable or immovable, it says anything artificial is an obstruction. Whether it is movable or not is another issue and concerns whether you take relief by moving the obstruction or the ball.
 
Last edited:
Top