Time to move to stiff shaft.

drawboy

Tour Winner
Visit site
I'm not overly long, just over average for a club golfer. Marked a couple off with the skycaddie at 250yrd carry with a smooth swing 96-98 mph,I currently use a reg ping shaft in my G10 driver. I have no driving problems really I don't slice, mainly slight draw to straight. Would a stiff shaft eke out a few more yards perhaps?

Region3

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
I'm no expert, but until one comes along I'd say 250 carry was VERY good for 96-98mph swing speed and can't see stiff making you any longer.

Having said that there's no harm taking your driver to a pro shop or golf store and comparing.

How's the accuracy with your regular?

Ethan

Money List Winner
Visit site
Stiffer would probably be straighter rather than longer, but if the ball flight was wastefully high and spinny, might get more distance, although at 250 yards, I think you are already defying the laws of physics.

The Ping TFC shafts are pretty soft. Most 96-98 mph swingers could easily handle stiff.

USER1999

Grand Slam Winner
Visit site
250 carry at 96 mph is crazy.

I swing at 96, and I do use a stiff shaft, but more for dispersion and spin reasons. I find regular is like over cooked spaghetti.

On a LM at Titleist I am carryinig about 220. This is also backed up on course, as we have a bunker at 225 carry on the 7th, and if I really catch one I can carry this.

Stiffer won't make you longer. The general rule is to hit as whippy as you can control, as this will give you more power.

If you are carrying 250 (I think Screwback was carrying 260 on the TM day, and he swings proper quick), then you are plenty long enough for most courses you will ever play.

surefire

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
Theres a few threads floating round right now about distance, so thought people may find the following data interesting.

Screenshot2009-12-19at160833.png

viscount17

Money List Winner
Visit site