Testing The Green

PaulMdj

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 6, 2024
Messages
2,590
Visit site
4BBB Comp today, all 4 players on the green, Player 1 from Team A marks the ball of Player 1 from Team B and knocks his ball towards him.

Player 1 from Team A then takes his putt.

Player 1 from Team B then knocks his ball back to Player 1 from Team A and asks him to replace the ball.

Player 1 from Team B had not picked his ball up off the green when Player 1 from Team A had knocked it to him after marking.

Player 2 from Team A now states Player 1 from Team B is penalised for playing his ball back to Player 1 from Team A as he has “tested the green” and should of picked his ball up originally and handed his ball back for re-marking.

What is the ruling please, couldn’t find anything in the App to cover this.
 
4BBB Comp today, all 4 players on the green, Player 1 from Team A marks the ball of Player 1 from Team B and knocks his ball towards him.

Player 1 from Team A then takes his putt.

Player 1 from Team B then knocks his ball back to Player 1 from Team A and asks him to replace the ball.

Player 1 from Team B had not picked his ball up off the green when Player 1 from Team A had knocked it to him after marking.

Player 2 from Team A now states Player 1 from Team B is penalised for playing his ball back to Player 1 from Team A as he has “tested the green” and should of picked his ball up originally and handed his ball back for re-marking.

What is the ruling please, couldn’t find anything in the App to cover this.

13.1e/1 – Deliberately Testing Any Putting Green Is Not Allowed

Examples of actions that are not a breach of Rule 13.1e are when:
a player concedes their opponent’s next putt and hits the ball away on the same line of play as the player may subsequently use but does not do so deliberately to learn information about the putting green.


Give the fact he wasn't even putting along the line he was ultimately going to take and therefore couldn't learn anything useful, then no penalty.
 

They’re raising the same point I am.

One player knocks the ball across the green to an opponent, who then knocks it back. The first player’s partner suggests the opponent has potentially breached a rule, apparently neglecting the fact his partner has done exactly the same.

Or am I missing something?
 
As player 2 from team A was the one calling the penalty, presumably player 1 (A) didn't see it as a penalty offence so why would they call it?
 
As player 2 from team A was the one calling the penalty, presumably player 1 (A) didn't see it as a penalty offence so why would they call it?

I’ll spell it out then!

Why didn’t player 2 from team A call a potential rule infringement on his own playing partner?

Both player 1 from team A and player 1 from team B have “tested the green”, yet the only one called on it is the opposition?
 
I’ll spell it out then!

Why didn’t player 2 from team A call a potential rule infringement on his own playing partner?

Both player 1 from team A and player 1 from team B have “tested the green”, yet the only one called on it is the opposition?
I was simply wondering why YandaB had switched the focus from one player (A2) to another (A1).

Evidently A1 did not see his action as a breach and presumably did not see B1's return as a breach either
Subsequently A2 saw B1's return of the ball as a breach.

If A1 did not believe he breached
(a) why would he call himself and
(b) think B1 had?

I agree, A2 should have called A1 for a breach immediately if he believed such action was a breach.
 
I was simply wondering why YandaB had switched the focus from one player (A2) to another (A1).

Evidently A1 did not see his action as a breach and presumably did not see B1's return as a breach either
Subsequently A2 saw B1's return of the ball as a breach.

If A1 did not believe he breached
(a) why would he call himself and
(b) think B1 had?

I agree, A2 should have called A1 for a breach immediately if he believed such action was a breach.
You're correct, I should have just said Team A or more correctly A2.
 
Top