Tending Flag

Dellboy

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
Hi,

Was playing yesterday morning when my friend who was just off the green, asked for the flag to be tended, he then thinned his chip.

Before it reached the hole / flag he shouted "leave it in", so I did, ball ended up off the green on the other side not hitting the flag or any part of the green :rolleyes:

But the third player in our group said " I should have not left the flag in as he asked for it to be tended so when the balls gets near I should have removed it "

Was I right to do as asked by the player or once the ball was on its way should I have removed it all together ??

Cheers

Del

DavidO

Head Pro
Visit site
I'm no expert, so I'll be watching for an answer on this, however, my tuppence worth is that you did nothing wrong.

You are only tending the flag, ready to remove it if the ball comes close??:confused:

chrisd

Major Champion
Visit site
Player 3 is talking out of a particular hole that doesn't necessarily have a flag in it that needs tending.

If the person attending the flag failed to remove it during the movement of the ball and the ball hit the flagstick then the player would incur a 2 shot penalty in stoke play and loss of the hole in match play.

It does make me wonder where people get these crazy ideas from?

Chris

anotherdouble

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
If player A is off the green I dont think he can request the flag to be tended. He either has it in or out. I expect I am wrong but thats where my sixpence would go

ADB

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
If player A is off the green I dont think he can request the flag to be tended. He either has it in or out. I expect I am wrong but thats where my sixpence would go

You can have the flag attended wherever you are on the hole, not just on the green

For example:

[video=youtube;aqKweki8Sxc]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aqKweki8Sxc&feature=results_main&playnext=1&list=PLE51707D316E62B62[/video]

Oh, and Chris is correct.

SyR