Teeing off from wrong tees.

RustyTom

Assistant Pro
Joined
Apr 6, 2015
Messages
199
Visit site
In last weekends Stableford comp, I was told it was off the whites and while on the practise green I seen a group tee off from the whites. I played first, straight down the middle of the fairway and that's when my playing partner said he believed it was off the yellows. We checked online and it was off the yellows. What happens in this situation? I said I'd either blob the hole or take 3 off the tee, but they both said it was un necessary and to just tee off again as if it was my first. Apologies if this sort of thing has been answered a million times, this phone and website don't get along and not alot seems to work.
 
In last weekends Stableford comp, I was told it was off the whites and while on the practise green I seen a group tee off from the whites. I played first, straight down the middle of the fairway and that's when my playing partner said he believed it was off the yellows. We checked online and it was off the yellows. What happens in this situation? I said I'd either blob the hole or take 3 off the tee, but they both said it was un necessary and to just tee off again as if it was my first. Apologies if this sort of thing has been answered a million times, this phone and website don't get along and not alot seems to work.

See rule 11-4. In strokeplay it's a 2 shot penalty and you have to play another shot from the correct tee before you tee off at the next hole or be D/Q'd. However in Stableford competitions you would only be penalised or D/Q'd from one hole, so you can just blob it and move on.
 
See rule 11-4. In strokeplay it's a 2 shot penalty and you have to play another shot from the correct tee before you tee off at the next hole or be D/Q'd. However in Stableford competitions you would only be penalised or D/Q'd from one hole, so you can just blob it and move on.

For the original poster - just play your tee shot from the correct tees and add two penalty strokes to your score for the hole; do not count the stroke played from the wrong teeing ground. You may still score points. delc's explanation is somewhat confusing.
 
For the original poster - just play your tee shot from the correct tees and add two penalty strokes to your score for the hole; do not count the stroke played from the wrong teeing ground. You may still score points. delc's explanation is somewhat confusing.
This ^^^^^^^^ Cancel the stroke, play from the correct tee, and add 2 penalty shots.

And to the OP, just to make clear; the fact it was the first hole is irrelevant. The rule (11-4b for strokeplay) applies to all 18 holes. If you look at the rule you'll see that it says " ... when starting a hole ...". It does not say " ... when starting any hole except the first ..."

If you are not too familiar with the rules, then a general principle to follow is that all rules apply all the time, on all holes. If there is an exception, the rules will specifically say so. For example for rule 11- 4 there is a difference between between matchplay and strokeplay - so the rules say what that is (11-4a and 11-4b). If the rules don't mention an exception, then there isn't one. There's no mention of the first hole being different, so it isn't.
 
I'd be pretty annoyed to be told that a comp was off the whites when it's really off the yellows...
OK it's the competitor's responsibility to know but he's asked and been told..then penalised....
You start to wonder how many others played off the wrong tee
 
I may be wrong but the way i read this your playing partner has stood and watched you play from the wrong tee and not said anything until after you have played your shot and then commented on it.
 
In last weekends Stableford comp, I was told it was off the whites and while on the practise green I seen a group tee off from the whites. I played first, straight down the middle of the fairway and that's when my playing partner said he believed it was off the yellows. We checked online and it was off the yellows. What happens in this situation? I said I'd either blob the hole or take 3 off the tee, but they both said it was un necessary and to just tee off again as if it was my first. Apologies if this sort of thing has been answered a million times, this phone and website don't get along and not alot seems to work.
A couple of questions:

Who told you it was off the whites?
Is there any possibility that where you played from was also within the yellow teeing ground?
 
A couple of questions:

Who told you it was off the whites?
Is there any possibility that where you played from was also within the yellow teeing ground?

A while back I played in a roll up monthly comp with 2 others, all of our comps were off the whites except that it had been decided to play a few off the yellows and the pro and his staff were told to tell people as they entered and paid. The assistant forgot to tell us - we were DQ'd, was this right?
 
A while back I played in a roll up monthly comp with 2 others, all of our comps were off the whites except that it had been decided to play a few off the yellows and the pro and his staff were told to tell people as they entered and paid. The assistant forgot to tell us - we were DQ'd, was this right?
By the rules then yes this was correct, morally is a different story.

Does your club still operate this policy, i would of thought there are better ways of making people aware of which tees.
 
By the rules then yes this was correct, morally is a different story.

Does your club still operate this policy, i would of thought there are better ways of making people aware of which tees.

I have a better policy , I always ask now.
 
For the original poster - just play your tee shot from the correct tees and add two penalty strokes to your score for the hole; do not count the stroke played from the wrong teeing ground. You may still score points. delc's explanation is somewhat confusing.

Nothing new there :D
 
If the white tees were less than two club lengths (?) behind the yellow tees I assume that there would be no penalty as you would still be within the correct area for the yellows.
 
A couple of questions:

Who told you it was off the whites?
Is there any possibility that where you played from was also within the yellow teeing ground?

For that to apply, the white tee markers would have to be more or less in line with the yellow markers and not more than 2 club lengths behind them. And you would still have to tee off from within the defined yellow teeing area.
 
For that to apply, the white tee markers would have to be more or less in line with the yellow markers and not more than 2 club lengths behind them. And you would still have to tee off from within the defined yellow teeing area.

I've seen some markers pretty close (touching) together (also seen some dual purpose two-tone painted ones)
 
For that to apply, the white tee markers would have to be more or less in line with the yellow markers and not more than 2 club lengths behind them. And you would still have to tee off from within the defined yellow teeing area.

Here's my 'nothing better to do on a Friday morning but I've only got MS Paint' effort.

No penalty if teed off from the shaded area.

Tee.jpg
 
Au contraire. It was quite correct and straightforward except that he missed discounting the first stroke.

Interesting that there is no penalty for playing from the wrong teeing area in Matchplay. It's just that your opponent(s) can ask you to replay the shot from the correct tee if it was a particularly good one, or allow it to stand if you hit it into trouble. You still have the option of playing 3 off the correct tee in the latter case. 😃
 
Last edited:
Interesting that there is no penalty for playing from the wrong teeing area in Matchplay. It's just that your opponent(s) can ask you to replay the shot from the correct tee if it was a particularly good one, or allow it to stand if you hit it into trouble. You still have the option of playing 3 off the correct tee in the latter case. 😃

Shame you manage to get that wrong....think about it a little more.
 
Top