Tee of with driver

s1john

Club Champion
Visit site
Ok when I tee off with my driver 8 / 10 drives arc to the right and go about 150 yards the odd ones that do go straight are usually about 220 yards, my friend that I go golfing with alot says that I need a driver with a draw rather than the neutral one that I have??? As i say i am very new to the game and this means nothing to me so is he right of not or should i just persist with my current driver and get me some lessons with a pro to sort out my drive??

bobmac

Major Champion
Visit site
Ok when I tee off with my driver 8 / 10 drives arc to the right and go about 150 yards the odd ones that do go straight are usually about 220 yards, my friend that I go golfing with alot says that I need a driver with a draw rather than the neutral one that I have??? As i say i am very new to the game and this means nothing to me so is he right of not or should i just persist with my current driver and get me some lessons with a pro to sort out my drive??

What is happening is sometimes the clubface is pointing to the right when you hit the ball, causing left to right spin sending it out to the right, sometimes it is pointing straight hence the straight one.
If you are made of money, buy a new driver, if not get someone Knowledgeable to check your grip.

Imurg

The Grinder Of Pars (Semi Crocked)
Visit site
Lessons, practice, lessons, practice etc etc.
its the best way unless you have oodles of natural ability in which case you should have lessons anyway as you could be a future star!
It may transpire that a draw bias driver will suit you but get a Pro to check your swing out first

bobmac

Major Champion
Visit site
And if you cant find someone knowledgable, check your grip in the mirror. It should look something like this
fviewgrip-1-1.jpg

Smiffy

Grand Slam Winner
Visit site