Only 50 yards more with driver than 7 iron!

Dilly75

Visit site
My son had his kids lesson session tonight at a local top tracer range so off I went with my bag. I only managed to get my drives up to 171 yards. 5 shots with a 9deg Ping G10 and two were 171. About 20 shots with my Srixon 10.5 deg and only one shot at 171. So a bit odd with the higher loft for beginners theory.

I know that drive length is poor but what's odd is I was hitting the 7 iron 120 yards max.

So I'm only gaining 50 yards with a driver over a 7 iron!

Maybe I should just carry a 7 and a putter.

Slab

Occasional Tour Caddy
Visit site
Not quite sure why you'd expect anything different. There's only about 20 degrees of loft difference between the two clubs. I'd confidently suggest that as your 7 iron distance improves so will your relative driver distance

(I'm no expert but i believe the higher driver loft for beginners advice is primarily to aid forgiveness on off center hits, not to add a bunch of distance... and 10.5 isn't actually high anyway)

edit to add:
I just checked some average distance stats and a 7iron will usually go about 2/3rds (66%) the distance of a driver
Your 171/120 stat puts your 7iron at 70% of driver distance, basically nothing if you were on a range, say 8 yards on driver and it’d be a 66% difference. You can find 8 yards just with a sweeter strike or marginal improvement in technique

Last edited:

chrisd

Major Champion
Visit site
The few times I've used top tracer I've found it to be pretty useless on measuring distance. On each occasion it gave distances way short of my Shotscope averages

Backsticks

Assistant Pro
Visit site
At the clubspeeds you have there, a few degrees difference in any club will have no meaningful influence on distance.