Stack and Tilt

MattCarter

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Not sure if anyone can help me but I am looking at trying out stack and tilt. I have been playing for about 8 months now and struggle with distance and consistency. My bad shot is a big slice (starts left of the target then ends up going 90 degrees). So I was wondering if stack and tilt would help and also where to find out information about it?

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
Not sure if anyone can help me but I am looking at trying out stack and tilt. I have been playing for about 8 months now and struggle with distance and consistency. My bad shot is a big slice (starts left of the target then ends up going 90 degrees). So I was wondering if stack and tilt would help and also where to find out information about it?

My advice would be to PM murphthemog or justoneuk and let them explain their theory to you without the thread getting hijacked. As you may have guessed S&T is a hot potato on here

Lump

Tour Winner
Visit site

Is that a pic of you in your avatar? If so...

IMO your stood too far way, which could cause you to reach a bit on your downswing causing the slice. (Only my opinion though, I'm sure someone more techy could blow me out the water)

MattCarter

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Is that a pic of you in your avatar? If so...

IMO your stood too far way, which could cause you to reach a bit on your downswing causing the slice. (Only my opinion though, I'm sure someone more techy could blow me out the water)

It is me in the pic but this was when I first started. I have had lessons since then so don't stand so far away or so hunch over now.

bobmac

Major Champion
Visit site
My bad shot is a big slice (starts left of the target then ends up going 90 degrees).

You have 2 problems here.
1. the ball starts left. The path of your swing causes this.
2. Ball turns right90 deg. club face points right at impact.