Sprinkler Heads near green

Leftie

Tour Winner
Joined
Dec 9, 2007
Messages
4,406
Location
19th hole
Visit site
Like most courses that I play, we have an approved local rule allowing relief under 24-2 in relation to sprinkler heads.

I note that should you wish to take relief then the ball must be lifted and dropped at the nearest point to where the ball lay that (a) is not nearer the hole, (b) avoids intervention and (c) is not in a hazard or on a putting green. Not, as other players today were insisting, within 1 club length of NPR.

This then raised the question is there a limit as to how far the ball can roll from the point of the drop? This arose because about 12" from the dropping point there is a severe down slope running into thick rough.

Is it just a case of assessing the likely outcome before the drop and accept the consequences?
 
The point is defined (in line with 25-2 btw so it's not in isolation) what happens after you have complied with this is in line with 20-2 (as usual) so yes, if it rolls more than 2cl you redrop.
 
Top