Short irons

DarloJames88

Visit site
Hi guys. I'm relatively new to the game I started in March this year. Strangely, I seem to have no issues hitting the longer clubs in the bag. I'm happy with the way I hit anything between a 3-7 iron given my current ability. My main problem often comes with my 8-PW. More often than not I'm hitting the turf about 1-2 inches behind the ball and it's going nowhere. I played last week and changed the way I address the ball after being given some tips. This worked and shaved about 10 shots off my average score. But I went back out yesterday and the same problems started again. Is this issue likely to be with the way I'm addressing the ball or an issue with my swing? Any help is much appreciated.

the_coach

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
as said above weight needs to be into the lead side before impact

what you may be/may not be doing at set-up
plus how the club goes upto the top can then have a real big influence into what does/doesn't happen into the ball

if the longer stuff is kinda going okay shorter stuff not so good - one thing to maybes consider longer clubs are built with little ways flatter lie so if the swing arc is flatter even under plane into the ball - you can then with the longer clubs get aways some with this ways shallower swing arc

in the takeback it's also real important that the lower & upper body don't move laterally to the trailside - more a feeling of staying more centered, trail glute rotates behind, trail shoulder/chest rotates behind as the arms & club move up - the trail arm bending at the elbow takes the hands atop the trail shoulder not back of it

the shorter irons, with short shafts & a little ways more upright lie build the swing then needs more of an element of 'down' to the ball in it & less around - this doesn't mean super steep & chop down tho

both the above normally taken care of at set-up, because of shaft length club built lie & ball position rather than a ways conscious different swing type