Setting Down putter head on line of putt.

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Joined
May 20, 2017
Messages
17,760
Location
Yeovil
Visit site
A player has a putter that will remain in an upright position when he lets go of it.

He sets the putter down on the intended line of play the walks away from it and checks the putter head is pointing on the line he intends to hit.

Is this a breach od 10.2b?
 
The player or caddie must not set an object down anywhere on or off the putting green to show the line of play.

Your player has set down an object (his putter) on the putting green to show his line of play.

Is there any shadow of doubt about a breach?
 
Hmmm
"According to the USGA, self-standing putters are allowed to be used to help players take a stance or to point out the line of play only when they are placed right next to the ball."
 
Hmmm
"According to the USGA, self-standing putters are allowed to be used to help players take a stance or to point out the line of play only when they are placed right next to the ball."
Yes. I had seen and forgotten that
 
Hmmm
"According to the USGA, self-standing putters are allowed to be used to help players take a stance or to point out the line of play only when they are placed right next to the ball."

Which unfortunately contradicts the wording of the Rule. You are not permitted to set down an object anywhere. Right next to the ball is anywhere but here we are having to accept that it isn't. It must be somewhere special then. :rolleyes: My problem with that is that if I had come across a player setting down his putter in the way described in order to point out his line of play, I would have penalised him no matter where his putter was, completely ignorant of the fact that the USGA had, Humpty Dumpty like, changed the meaning of "anywhere".
 
Last edited:
Hmmm
"According to the USGA, self-standing putters are allowed to be used to help players take a stance or to point out the line of play only when they are placed right next to the ball."
I can't now find the ruling. Have you got a link?
 
A newscaster on another broadcast said in March 'the USGA were going to tweek the rule'. To the best of my knowledge that hasn't happened yet.
 
Never seen this, but probably the most bizarre exception to a rule I've ever noticed, when it blatantly looks illegal. I'm not sure why the USGA allowed this, do they make royalties out of this make of putter? What would happen if the same player did the same thing in a European Tour event?
 
Never seen this, but probably the most bizarre exception to a rule I've ever noticed, when it blatantly looks illegal. I'm not sure why the USGA allowed this, do they make royalties out of this make of putter? What would happen if the same player did the same thing in a European Tour event?
The USGA wouldn't make such a statement without confirming it with the R&A first, and vice versa also applies. They do communicate on decisions regarding Rules statements.
 
Top