Self teaching vs Lessons.

kid2

Money List Winner
Visit site
Well iv been mulling over posting this for a while and i said id throw it out and see what the general thoughts are on the subject....

A little about me first....Iv been playing 3 years going into my 4th and iv never had a lesson....I started with a handicap of 21 and im now down to 15....Iv learned a lot through the internet and through magazines and books and to be honest a lot has been trial and error.....And a lot of heartache..
But i feel that having lessons or no lessons i still would have been frustrated...

I cant say that im 100% self taught as iv had some very good encouragement and direction from Justone and Bob...Without them i feel that i would have been still up in the late teens or maybe even early 20's....
I would also feel that i have a decent amount of natural ability as without it i dont think that i would be where i am now.

I may be missing out on a quick way of getting lower through Not having lessons but i feel i get more satisfaction from fixing things myself.....

Iv fiddled with Grip, Posture, and Alignment and at the moment Im working on my swing plane...
The other fundamentals i feel i have gotten to a good standard and im starting to realize what the outcome of not having sound foundations can have on your game....

I cant really speak from a teaching point of view but i would take a guess that having lessons from day one might be the best way to go and i suppose any good teacher would work with the good points of a players swing and build from there rather than ripping everything apart and getting the student to swing the way the teacher wants them to swing.

I guess that this is more of a general topic rather than which is better lessons or not but i think that if i can get to maintain a low handicap on my own steam it will feel so much better and give me a greater sense of achievement...