• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Ruling on 18th for Adam Scott in China

Swinglowandslow

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 19, 2018
Messages
2,889
Visit site
Hello
Just been watching the WGC competition in China. Adam Scott's ball went into a bush near the water on the 18th.
It looked like he and the ref couldn't find the ball ( or maybe they did)
It certainly wasn't in the penalty area ( water), the tv showed that.
I may have missed the relevant commentary, but does anyone know what ruling he played under?
I.e. Unplayable or ball in penalty area?
I would have thought he would have liked the latter😀
 
I thought it wasn't. I looked particularly for the red line. It was about 9 " from the water, but what it did when it got to the bush Indont know, it may have looped around it, but I doubt it.
I'll record the highlights and have a closer look.
 
Looked to me though that the drop was taken close to where the ball had entered the Bush and much closer to the hole than the point the ball could have entered the water. Not so sure you could see the red line from the pictures I saw.
 
Hello
Just been watching the WGC competition in China. Adam Scott's ball went into a bush near the water on the 18th.
It looked like he and the ref couldn't find the ball ( or maybe they did)
It certainly wasn't in the penalty area ( water), the tv showed that.
I may have missed the relevant commentary, but does anyone know what ruling he played under?
I.e. Unplayable or ball in penalty area?
I would have thought he would have liked the latter😀

Can't really answer this! I gather from doublebogey that he dropped a ball into play in which case he could only be proceeding under Rule 19 if he had found his original ball (Unplayable Ball) or Rule 17 (Penalty Area) if he knew or was virtually certain his ball was in it. But you say his ball certainly wasn't in the penalty area and then wonder if he played under the Penalty Area rule. :unsure:

Anyway, I reckon he must have been taking relief from either an unplayable ball or the penalty area. I can't think of any other reason for dropping a ball into play.
 
Of course the options for a red penalty area and an unplayable ball are identical, only the starting point is different (where ball last crossed the edge for red penalty area versus where the ball lies for unplayable).
 
Of course the options for a red penalty area and an unplayable ball are identical, only the starting point is different (where ball last crossed the edge for red penalty area versus where the ball lies for unplayable).

That's true, of course. From the tv itcwas clear where the ball came to rest. You could see that it was in the bush not far from the water.
I was puzzled at what appeared to be them searching for it, as though they didn't know that.
And if they didn't know where it was, was Adam wanting the ball to be declared as being in the water " with virtual certainty "
Clearly they would have known if those bushes hadn't been there.
But they may well have known where it was, and it was a case of ,where is a place within two club lengths for me to drop.
I must admit I didn't see where the ball was finally dropped, it just seemed two club lengths would have been very close to being near the edge of the bush.
 
Watching this last night the red line was where Mark Lytton (the referee) and Adam Scott were standing towards the end on the incident. A large part of the pampas grass bush was clearly inside the penalty area although it was not clear if it all was. (For comparison you could see where the Im was dropping his ball).

The photographer confirmed where the ball had landed and crossed the line.
 
Top