Rules question - double hitting?

JustOne

Ryder Cup Winner
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
14,803
www.justoneuk.com
If you are in the rough or a bunker and you de-accellerate on a shot you can sometimes hit the ball twice (as you clip it on the follow through) I've always considered this as no penalty - you just declare that you've hit it twice, is this correct?

and, What happens if it's a PUTT?
 
Rule 14, you count the shot and a penalty for the second hit, so 2 shots in all.
In other words, you count both hits. Same for putting
 
So effectively there is no penalty even though you hit a moving ball, you just count the number of hits, in this case 2.

which (after it happened) brings me onto the next point...


So when standing over a longish putt - hit the putt, run to the hole side and as it rolls down near the hole you could hit it again, effectively tapping it in, stopping it from running 8 feet past..... without penalty? :D
 
So effectively there is no penalty even though you hit a moving ball, you just count the number of hits, in this case 2.

which (after it happened) brings me onto the next point...


So when standing over a longish putt - hit the putt, run to the hole side and as it rolls down near the hole you could hit it again, effectively tapping it in, stopping it from running 8 feet past..... without penalty? :D

No. The first case, known to older players as a 'T C Chen', is an accidental double hit.

The second case is deliberately hitting a moving ball, so a breach of rule 1-2, penalty 2 strokes in addition to the strokes taken, and in serious cases, can be DQ. That would likely be considered a serious case.
 
In the instance you give here,
So when standing over a longish putt - hit the putt, run to the hole side and as it rolls down near the hole you could hit it again, effectively tapping it in, stopping it from running 8 feet past..... without penalty?

Then that would be covered by 14-5 so that would incurr a two stroke penaly.

Bob was refering to an accidental double strike of the ball, 14-4

See the whole of rule 14 for clarification.
 
In the instance you give here,
So when standing over a longish putt - hit the putt, run to the hole side and as it rolls down near the hole you could hit it again, effectively tapping it in, stopping it from running 8 feet past..... without penalty?

Then that would be covered by 14-5 so that would incurr a two stroke penaly.

Bob was refering to an accidental double strike of the ball, 14-4

See the whole of rule 14 for clarification.

Rule 14- and 5 cover accidental double hits. Deliberate double hits are different, and a greater breach.

14-5. Playing Moving Ball
A player must not make a stroke at his ball while it is moving.
Exceptions:
• Ball falling off tee – Rule 11-3
• Striking the ball more than once – Rule 14-4
• Ball moving in water – Rule 14-6
When the ball begins to move only after the player has begun the
stroke or the backward movement of his club for the stroke, he incurs no penalty under this Rule for playing a moving ball, but he is not exempt from any penalty under the following Rules:
• Ball at rest moved by player – Rule 18-2a
• Ball at rest moving after address – Rule 18-2b
(Ball purposely deflected or stopped by player, partner or caddie – see Rule 1-2)
 
On a similar note, improving your lie by squashing down a weed is a one shot penalty. Knocking a leaf off a tree which is on your line, with your practice swing is a one shot penalty.

What if you cut the tree down? One shot penalty? Could be worth it, if you had a spare chainsaw in the bag.
 
Secret is not to hit it twice. But Murph has a point, must remember to charge up my Dremmel mini saw!... :D
 
since it is within the rules to remove dead litter, can anyone recommend a good, lightweight, portable, leaf blower?

and would a petrol engined version be unacceptable?
 
Top