Rule 17-3

cliveb

Head Pro
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
3,314
Visit site
Scenario: a player asks for the flagstick to be attended by an opponent or FC (ie. not a partner or caddie), takes a putt, the person attending fails to remove the flag (for whatever reason) and the ball strikes the stick. I know that it incurs a two shot penalty (or loss of hole in matchplay).

But it somehow seems a bit harsh - the player was expecting the flag to be removed and it's hardly his fault that the attender was unable to get it out in time. (I can even imagine that in matchplay an unscrupulous opponent might be tempted to do it deliberately).

Are there any decisions covering this situation?
 
It's not the player's 'fault' but still his/her responsibility, so the penalty is on him/her!

No 'Decisions' as it's 'self-explanatory'!
 
Scenario: a player asks for the flagstick to be attended by an opponent or FC (ie. not a partner or caddie), takes a putt, the person attending fails to remove the flag (for whatever reason) and the ball strikes the stick. I know that it incurs a two shot penalty (or loss of hole in matchplay).

But it somehow seems a bit harsh - the player was expecting the flag to be removed and it's hardly his fault that the attender was unable to get it out in time. (I can even imagine that in matchplay an unscrupulous opponent might be tempted to do it deliberately).

Are there any decisions covering this situation?

Happened to me in NZ, lost out on an Open by 2 shots when fellow failed to get flag out in time for my long birdie putt . He said sorry, but it was going in so you can have the birdie :eek: Told him in no uncertain terms that was not the case and not only had he cost me the birdie but also the two shot penalty so a 6 . Was a very frosty 25 holes till the end .......
 
No penalty next year for hitting the flagstick left in the hole but there may be if the flagstick is removed when the player indicated that he wanted it left in. The penalty going to the attender.
 
Thanks. That clears things up.

One followup: in the new 2019 rules, where it will be OK for a putt to strike the flagstick, is that only OK if it's not attended - ie. will there still be a penalty if the ball hits an attended flagstick?
It is certainly ok if the flagstick is not attended.

If it is attended and the attender deliberately does not remove it, the person who deliberately deflected or stopped the ball was a player or his or her caddie, that player gets the general penalty for a breach of Rule 11.2.

If the ball accidentally hits the flagstick or the person is attending it (or anything the person is holding), there is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies
 
Top