Rain affected comp

chrisd

Major Champion
Joined
Sep 22, 2009
Messages
25,064
Location
Kent
Visit site
So today we have a competition with tee off from 8am to 9.30 then 1pm to 2pm. I tee off at 9.10 in a 2 ball and when we reached 13 the heavens open and we have about 40 minutes of biblical rain. After about 2 holes it's difficult to putt at all and by the 16th the green is flooded and so we walked in. My pp asked the Pro what to do and he was told to enter the scores on completed holes.The rain stopped and the sun came out as it does as quickly as it started walking from the 16th to the clubhouse

I was on 12.4 and heading for a buffer and so, for me, another .1 is not welcome and also moves me from cat 2 to 3. So what do most clubs do in such circumstances?
 
Assuming the course wasn’t closed and competition ongoing....
your score card will be based on Stableford points due to NR’ing the last two holes. So dependant on your Stableford score at the end of 16th decided whether you get 0.1 back or not.
 
Very few clubs have the will, to suspend play when course conditions demand it.

So you are left in the situation you found you self. From a personal perspective you should write on the card that you were forced to come off the course as the flooded green made it impossible to continue. The committee should then make a decision regarding your 0.1 based on the reasonable possibility of you making buffer ie strongly favouring your chances given scores to that point rather than directly projecting them.
 
Assuming the course wasn’t closed and competition ongoing....
your score card will be based on Stableford points due to NR’ing the last two holes. So dependant on your Stableford score at the end of 16th decided whether you get 0.1 back or not.

Seems unfair, we couldn't putt on 15 properly and 16 at all so we didn't play 4 holes when the rain was accumulating. I was on 25 points teeing off on 15 but playing pretty well at that point

Very few clubs have the will, to suspend play when course conditions demand it.

So you are left in the situation you found you self. From a personal perspective you should write on the card that you were forced to come off the course as the flooded green made it impossible to continue. The committee should then make a decision regarding your 0.1 based on the reasonable possibility of you making buffer ie strongly favouring your chances given scores to that point rather than directly projecting them.

Thanks Duncan. I binned the card as there seemed no chance that they'd sort it properly. Given the type of weather and the speed it clears I guess not that many of the field were as affected as us
 
The problem is often that with flooded greens the issue is localised in term's of both where and when...depending on what happens with the future weather it may have cleared sufficiently to find a line to putt within 10 min - or 10 hours. You can only act appropriately at the point you are impacted.
 
Very few clubs have the will, to suspend play when course conditions demand it.

So you are left in the situation you found you self. From a personal perspective you should write on the card that you were forced to come off the course as the flooded green made it impossible to continue. The committee should then make a decision regarding your 0.1 based on the reasonable possibility of you making buffer ie strongly favouring your chances given scores to that point rather than directly projecting them.
This happened to me when I was playing with the hcap sec but he still gave me .1 even when I complained.
So don’t expect to much.
 
This happened to me when I was playing with the hcap sec but he still gave me .1 even when I complained.
So don’t expect to much.

I'm not even going to raise the matter as it isn't worth the effort. Reckon I could be dangerous off 13 😉

But I was keen to know how other clubs manage these things , so thanks guys
 
Picking up this old thread from 2019 as things may have changed.

If I reach a green and find the green flooded and the hole under water, can I simply record a No Return for the hole and go to the next tee? Or if on the tee I can see the green flooded and hole under water I score a Not Started and move to next tee?
 
Picking up this old thread from 2019 as things may have changed.

If I reach a green and find the green flooded and the hole under water, can I simply record a No Return for the hole and go to the next tee? Or if on the tee I can see the green flooded and hole under water I score a Not Started and move to next tee?
That sounds ok for WHS purposes but it would be up to the Committee to determine the situation re the comp.
 
Picking up this old thread from 2019 as things may have changed.

If I reach a green and find the green flooded and the hole under water, can I simply record a No Return for the hole and go to the next tee? Or if on the tee I can see the green flooded and hole under water I score a Not Started and move to next tee?

Took me until the end to realise that this thread is from 2019

I would suggest not resurrecting threads about handicap matters from pre WHS as the answers could confuse some who, like me, may not spot the date.



The committee should follow this guidance (trouble is if it is like my course there is often nobody willing to take that decision)

Water If all the area around a hole is covered in temporary water and it cannot be removed, in stroke play the course should be considered unplayable and the Committee should suspend play under Rule 5.7.

(5)
Player ....... Up Due to Weather Conditions
If, because of bad weather, a player .................... picks up during the round and the Committee later cancels that round, the player gets no penalty as all penalties in a cancelled round are cancelled.

Stroke Play In stroke play there is no set guidance for when a Committee should cancel a round.
When a round is cancelled, all scores and penalties during that round are cancelled.
 
Took me until the end to realise that this thread is from 2019

I would suggest not resurrecting threads about handicap matters from pre WHS as the answers could confuse some who, like me, may not spot the date.



The committee should follow this guidance (trouble is if it is like my course there is often nobody willing to take that decision)

Water If all the area around a hole is covered in temporary water and it cannot be removed, in stroke play the course should be considered unplayable and the Committee should suspend play under Rule 5.7.

(5)
Player ....... Up Due to Weather Conditions
If, because of bad weather, a player .................... picks up during the round and the Committee later cancels that round, the player gets no penalty as all penalties in a cancelled round are cancelled.

Stroke Play In stroke play there is no set guidance for when a Committee should cancel a round.
When a round is cancelled, all scores and penalties during that round are cancelled.

Ok...but as I wasn't sure if anything has changed since 2019 that is why I started my post clearly pointing out that I was picking up a 2019 thread. I actually thought I was doing the right thing prompting an update to the old conversation :-)
 
Top