Provisional picked up but wrong ball had been played.

No, his 6th
Tee shot = 1
Provisional ball =1
Penalty stroke (lost ball) =1
Penalty strokes for wrong ball = 2
Next stroke is his 6th.

However, now that it has been clarified that the player asked the OP to pick his ball, there is also the penalty stroke for that, making the revised situation that he would be playing his 7th shot.

Christ! I love this game.


Poor sod tees off, clips a tree, then 10 minutes later he's playing his 7th shot albeit only his 2nd at the provisional.

He was right to NR :rofl:
 
No, his 6th
Tee shot = 1
Provisional ball =1
Penalty stroke (lost ball) =1
Penalty strokes for wrong ball = 2
Next stroke is his 6th.

However, now that it has been clarified that the player asked the OP to pick his ball, there is also the penalty stroke for that, making the revised situation that he would be playing his 7th shot.

The R & A have just e mailed me confirming this. I apologised for wasting their time, although the rules manager & I are practically on first name terms now.
 
Top