Provisional or not?

Not according to 18.2a. He is required to go and identify a ball that has been found in the 3 minute search period within a reasonable time. If he does not do so, the ball, if his original, is lost. He continues with his provisional ball which is now his ball in play.

Surely this situation could be taken advantage of. ( I'm not suggesting it was in this instance. Below is a hypothetical scenario)
Suppose someone decides that it looks like where "his" ball has been found is in a very bad place, so plays( or has already played) a provisionally which is in a very good place. If, by failing to go and identify the ball, it becomes "lost",
he then carries on and plays the provisional ( which happens to be in a very good place😉). Is this what could be done?

Is a player able to decide not to go and identify the found ball, or must he go and identify it..? What happens if he declines to identify it.?

Edit. Sorry- I've now seen the posts which appear in the thread earlier than this, which raise the same point and answer it, thus making this post of mine irrelevant
 
Last edited:
Surely this situation could be taken advantage of. ( I'm not suggesting it was in this instance. Below is a hypothetical scenario)
Suppose someone decides that it looks like where "his" ball has been found is in a very bad place, so plays( or has already played) a provisionally which is in a very good place. If, by failing to go and identify the ball, it becomes "lost",
he then carries on and plays the provisional ( which happens to be in a very good place😉). Is this what could be done?

Is a player able to decide not to go and identify the found ball, or must he go and identify it..? What happens if he declines to identify it.?
Rule 1.2a says players are expected to act with integrity, and the Committee can DQ a player for acting contrary to the spirit of the game in cases of serious misconduct. This could be one of those cases.
 
Previously there was a specific decision which referred the matter to the committee. I suggest rulies' reference to 1.2a is the equivalent.
 
I appreciate that the "debate" as to whether he played the wrong ball or not is over, but I found it interesting when I read rule 7.2 which someone quoted above.
The ways in which a ball is identified, and by whom.
So hypothetically,if I were playing a Pro V #2 and it was the ball found, it could be identified by my pp, if he had had that information earlier in the game.
Fair enough, until the ball player denies it is his because he wants to play his provisional in the hypothetical situation as mentioned previously.

This could make for an unsavoury situation and one I hope none of us experiences, but it could happen, I suppose.
I'm a little surprised that the rule writers didn't restrict the identification of the ball to the player himself, and rely on his integrity, as golf does so admirably in other matters.
 
Top