Plugged ball in semi rough

Marshy77

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Feb 6, 2012
Messages
2,687
Location
Bradford
Visit site
Played on Sunday and the 18th is a Par 3 from an elevated tee, small stream down the right with rough/semi rough either side. I hit my tee shot to the right of the red stakes in the semi rough and you could only see maybe a 1/3 of my ball - just wondering what the rule on it is?

I took a penalty shot and rolled the ball out of its plugged lie but wasn't sure if this is correct.
 
Played on Sunday and the 18th is a Par 3 from an elevated tee, small stream down the right with rough/semi rough either side. I hit my tee shot to the right of the red stakes in the semi rough and you could only see maybe a 1/3 of my ball - just wondering what the rule on it is?

I took a penalty shot and rolled the ball out of its plugged lie but wasn't sure if this is correct.

If your course has a local rule allowing relief from a plugged ball 'through the green' then you can get a free drop but if not then you either play it as it lies or declare it unplayable and proceed that way.

Even if you do have the local rule, or your ball is plugged on the fairway (where you get relief as per the regular rules), you never, ever 'roll the ball out'. You need to drop it as close as possible to where it was plugged.
 
If your course has a local rule allowing relief from a plugged ball 'through the green' then you can get a free drop but if not then you either play it as it lies or declare it unplayable and proceed that way.

Even if you do have the local rule, or your ball is plugged on the fairway (where you get relief as per the regular rules), you never, ever 'roll the ball out'. You need to drop it as close as possible to where it was plugged.

OK cheers. It's not my club (I'm not a member anywhere) I was playing at my mates club and he wasn't sure of the rule as he's just joined.

Point taken on the drop too, cheers Spuddy.
 
The Red Stakes would indicate a lateral water hazard - and from your description you are in it. So you simply play as it lies (I very much doubt that there will be a local rule giving you relief from your plug) making sure you don't touch anything with your clubhead when addressing the ball - or follow rules for taking relief from a lateral water hazard - basically one club length from point your ball's trajectory crossed the boundary of the LWH and not nearer the hole; or take stroke and distance.
 
Last edited:
The Red Stakes would indicate a lateral water hazard - and from your description you are in it. So you simply play as it lies (I very much doubt that there will be a local rule giving you relief from your plug) making sure you don't touch anything with your clubhead when addressing the ball - or follow rules for taking relief from the lateral water hazards - basically one club length from point your balls trajectory crossed the boundary of the LWH and not nearer the hole - or take stroke and distance.

No I was right of the red stakes not in the hazard.
 
The Red Stakes would indicate a lateral water hazard - and from your description you are in it. So you simply play as it lies (I very much doubt that there will be a local rule giving you relief from your plug) making sure you don't touch anything with your clubhead when addressing the ball - or follow rules for taking relief from a lateral water hazard - basically one club length from point your ball's trajectory crossed the boundary of the LWH and not nearer the hole; or take stroke and distance.

Two :thup:
 
No I was right of the red stakes not in the hazard.

If you are right of the red stakes and the red stakes are to your right at you play the hole - then you are in the LWH whether or not you are in the stream.

If you can't determine the point you crossed the LWH - which you probably can't as that what makes it a LWH. Then nearest pioint on the boundary and then one club length not nearer the hole. But there are many options so look here...

http://www.randa.org/en/Playing-Gol...-Situations-and-Procedures/Water-Hazards.aspx
 
Last edited:
If you are right of the red stakes and the red stakes are to your right at you play the hole - then you are in the LWH whether or not you are in the stream.

I read it that he had went beyond the hazard into the rough (beyond the red stakes on the right side of the hazard)
 
I read it that he had went beyond the hazard into the rough (beyond the red stakes on the right side of the hazard)

So daft questions for OP.

(1) Red Stakes are likely to be, either, fairway side of the stream or the other side of stream. Were they fairway side? - as I would expect them to be the answer to this will be YES.

(2) If YES to 1) was there a second set of stakes somewhere the other side of the stream ? I expect answer to that to be NO.

If (1) YES and (2) NO then ball is in LWH.

If there are red stakes both sides of the stream and the ball is to the right of the right hand set (furthest from fairway) then NOT in LWH
 
Last edited:
I think basically he wasn't in the Hazard and shouldn't have mentioned the Red stakes?

But you can't just ignore the red stakes as they determine the boundary of the LWH and whether he was in the LWH or not. Being to the right of the red stakes and there being no second line of red stakes further right means he is in the LWH - whether he is in the stream or not.
 
Daft question of my own but why would you expect there to be no stakes on the far side? Hazards like small streams should be marked on both sides.
 
But you can't just ignore the red stakes as they determine the boundary of the LWH and whether he was in the LWH or not. Being to the right of the red stakes and there being no second line of red stakes further right means he is in the LWH - whether he is in the stream or not.

yep read it wrong. Looks like he was in the hazard.
 
Last edited:
:confused::mmm:

Post 10? He's confirmed there were stakes both sides and he was to the right of them

Blimey so I was right with my first post that he had gone beyond he red stakes and shouldn't have mentioned them. OP should've read.... My ball was plugged in the rough. Was I entitled to roll it out under one shot penalty.
 
:confused::mmm:

Post 10? He's confirmed there were stakes both sides and he was to the right of them

No he hasn't - he's said he went beyond red stakes. If indeed there were two lines of red stakes - one either side of the stream I'd assume - and he is not between these lines but to the right of them then he is not in the LWH. If there is one line of red stakes and he is to the right of them then he is in the LWH.

Clearly there are red stakes about (or they wouldn't have been mentioned) and so we must know precisely where his ball his relative to them. Or am I really going mad as my wife suspects.
 
Who cares. If you're between red stakes your in a hazard. If you're not between red stakes carry on as previously described.
 
No he hasn't - he's said he went beyond red stakes. If indeed there were two lines of red stakes - one either side of the stream I'd assume - and he is not between these lines but to the right of them then he is not in the LWH. If there is one line of red stakes and he is to the right of them then he is in the LWH.

Clearly there are red stakes about (or they wouldn't have been mentioned) and so we must know precisely where his ball his relative to them. Or am I really going mad as my wife suspects.

I agree with your wife :D

In post 10 he agreed with my assertion that there were posts on the far side of the hazard and he had gone past them into the rough. Unfortunately mentioning the hazard confused things a little.
 
Top