Playing out of turn in matchplay

I don't believe 'ready golf' necessarily applies to Matchplay!

Whilst not 'necessarily', under the 2019 Rules opponents can agree to play out of turn in match play.

For clarity

Match Play

Exception – Playing Out of Turn by Agreement to Save Time: To save time:

• The player may invite the opponent to play out of turn or may agree to the opponent’s request to play out of turn.
• If the opponent then makes the stroke out of turn, the player has given up the right to cancel the stroke.
 
Whilst not 'necessarily', under the 2019 Rules opponents can agree to play out of turn in match play.

For clarity

Match Play

Exception – Playing Out of Turn by Agreement to Save Time: To save time:

• The player may invite the opponent to play out of turn or may agree to the opponent’s request to play out of turn.
• If the opponent then makes the stroke out of turn, the player has given up the right to cancel the stroke.
An excellent rule - that also clarifies Chris's query.

But it doesn't contradict my post, which is about the (frequent) Matchplay circumstances where I would like to see the result of an opponents shot before finalising my tactic.
 
An excellent rule - that also clarifies Chris's query.

But it doesn't contradict my post, which is about the (frequent) Matchplay circumstances where I would like to see the result of an opponents shot before finalising my tactic.
That's why the Rules say that in match play, the ball farthest from the hole is to be played first, and there are consequences for playing out of turn (other than when the Exception applies). I don't see much sense in debating it just because someone posted their contrary opinion.
 
Just to be clear about the Exception which Jim posted above, what is permitted is that players in match play can agree to one of them playing out of turn for a particular stroke.
 
Just to be clear about the Exception which Jim posted above, what is permitted is that players in match play can agree to one of them playing out of turn for a particular stroke.

So in my case I'd summarise as

I believed i made clear that i wanted/intended to play out of turn to allow the players on the hole i was on to carry on with their game

That our opponents had agreed by not indicating that they didn't want me to play out of turn

That once I did play they needed to ask me immediately to replay the shot again, but in the correct order which I would have happily done

That the guy was a dick for moaning after the hole was lost on the 2nd hole of a league game, given that it was too late to do anything about it, and it only pumped us up to play better, which we did and stuffed them😁
 
That our opponents had agreed by not indicating that they didn't want me to play out of turn
If their lack of acknowledgement meant they didn't know your intention is somewhat irrelevant. Only if they knew your intent and had agreed would it matter. The key point is that they didn't immediately require you to replay the shot.
 
So in my case I'd summarise as

I believed i made clear that i wanted/intended to play out of turn to allow the players on the hole i was on to carry on with their game

That our opponents had agreed by not indicating that they didn't want me to play out of turn

That once I did play they needed to ask me immediately to replay the shot again, but in the correct order which I would have happily done

That the guy was a dick for moaning after the hole was lost on the 2nd hole of a league game, given that it was too late to do anything about it, and it only pumped us up to play better, which we did and stuffed them😁
I would have preferred (and would have asked for) an actual approval to play out of turn, rather than simply assuming by a 'null response' that approval was given. That way there'd be no doubt and no ability to whinge, which seems to be what the opponent was doing! Nice to see it 'backfired'!
 
I would have preferred (and would have asked for) an actual approval to play out of turn, rather than simply assuming by a 'null response' that approval was given. That way there'd be no doubt and no ability to whinge, which seems to be what the opponent was doing! Nice to see it 'backfired'!

Had I walked to where they were to ask them, the 2 ball who allowed me to play through would have probably got angry. I indicated with fairly clear sign language but, as has been said (and I knew the rule) they could have requested I play the shot again if they claimed that they didn't understand my sineage - which would of course had a similar effect on the mood of the match. My initial question for the rule was intended to be " if by indicating my wish to play out of turn was understood by me to be ok'd by them then would I have to replay the shot if requested, or could I say you didn't try to stop me so it was tacit agreement and you now asking me to play it simply because I hit a good shot"



Incidentally, I'm sure he'd have not said a word had I shanked it and not hit to within 5 feet of the pin as I did
 
I'd have done what you seem to indicate that you did. ie indicate as best as you can that you were going to play, then leave it up to them and play. They can either indicate they don't want you to play, or ask you to re-play if they were unhappy. But grumbling later is their problem, not yours.
 
'I indicated, best as i could, that I was going to play.... when I gestured that I was going to play out of turn they didn't appear to object.....having been made aware of my intention... I think though, that I made it clear....indicated my intention to do so and this wasn't objected to by our opponents.....I indicated that, due to the situation, I wished to play'.

Just intrigued as to how one indicates such an intention?
 
Had I walked to where they were to ask them, the 2 ball who allowed me to play through would have probably got angry. I indicated with fairly clear sign language but, as has been said (and I knew the rule) they could have requested I play the shot again if they claimed that they didn't understand my sineage - which would of course had a similar effect on the mood of the match. My initial question for the rule was intended to be " if by indicating my wish to play out of turn was understood by me to be ok'd by them then would I have to replay the shot if requested, or could I say you didn't try to stop me so it was tacit agreement and you now asking me to play it simply because I hit a good shot"



Incidentally, I'm sure he'd have not said a word had I shanked it and not hit to within 5 feet of the pin as I did
Fair enough, under the circumstances I guess. I still prefer certainty though!
 
'I indicated, best as i could, that I was going to play.... when I gestured that I was going to play out of turn they didn't appear to object.....having been made aware of my intention... I think though, that I made it clear....indicated my intention to do so and this wasn't objected to by our opponents.....I indicated that, due to the situation, I wished to play'.

Just intrigued as to how one indicates such an intention?

I didn't video it but I think I sort of pointed to myself, swung my club and put my thumb up - comical it may be - but I'm pretty sure they got the message.
 
Top