• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Playing a practice shot during a competition round

fullongolf

New member
Joined
May 5, 2022
Messages
23
Visit site
Player A plays an approach shot to the green, hits it thin and overshoots the green. Player B (the marker) was walking up to the green when player A hits another ball (from the same spot (assumed because player B has his back to Player A) onto the green and just short of the flag. Player B says to player A "you can be disqualified (DQ) for that". Player A then says "take it up with the pro, I'm not taking a penalty". Player B then checks the rules and sees that it is a 2 stroke penalty (not DQ).

Player B says to Player A "okay, I won't sign your card". Player A then agrees to take a 2 stroke penalty.

Has anyone else experienced this? Player A is well aware of the rules but expected me to ignore them!
There have been countless times I've wanted to replay a shot (like I do when I'm not playing in a competition). So the tension between Player A and B is carried through the rest of the round, ruining my enjoyment of the game for that day.

PS, I'm Player B
 
Surely thats just playing a second ball without provisional, so its 1 penalty shot and the new ball is the ball in play so yes, effetcively he's 2 shots more.
 
Seems to me that Player A put a new ball in play (unless he declared to player B that he was playing a provisional which seems to not be the case).

Assuming the first approach shot was his 2nd on the hole, then as soon as he hit the 2nd (new) ball he was playing four. If he then went and played the 1st ball then he’s played the wrong ball. Two shot penalty. So that’s six and he has to go and play his 2nd approach (the new ball he put in play).

I’d not let him wriggle out of his just desserts by him claiming he was practicing…whether he was or not I care not…he hit a 2nd ball with the hole not completed by him - in my eyes he simply put a new ball into play😇
 
Last edited:
Seems to me that Player A put a new ball in play (unless he declared to player B that he was playing a provisional which seems to not be the case).

Assuming the first approach shot was his 2nd on the hole, then as soon as he hit the 2nd (new) ball he was playing four. If he then went and played the 1st ball then he’s played the wrong ball. Two shot penalty. So that’s six and he has to go and play his 2nd approach (the new ball he put in play).

I’d not let him wriggle out of his just desserts by him claiming he was practicing…whether he was or not I care not…he hit a 2nd ball with the hole not completed by him - in my eyes he simply put a new ball into play😇
Yes.
Had he done that from the tee, I.e. hit shot 1 off the tee, then hit shot 2 off the tee then he has played three shots and the second ball is the ball in play.
No one would say that wasn’t the case, I don’t think.
As I understand it ,
The fact it happens “ further along the line” doesn’t change it. He has taken” stroke and distance”
Just add up the strokes and that’s it. No question of penalty or disqualification.
It’s a lawful election by him to accrue that many strokes, if that’s what he was intending.
If he thought otherwise, then he should be advised that he has played 4 and his ‘second’ ball is the ball now in play.


Similar to a story I read of a lady golfer who, when she hit into a bunker, she would play another and take stroke and distance.
And, where some Pro putted off the green into a bunker , so took the putt again, incurring S and D.
You can do that anywhere on the course.
 
Similar to a story I read of a lady golfer who, when she hit into a bunker, she would play another and take stroke and distance.
And, where some Pro putted off the green into a bunker , so took the putt again, incurring S and D.
You can do that anywhere on the course.
I don’t read the OPs scenario as similar as, I assume, he proceeded to play the hole out with ball 1 and ‘abandoned’ ball as it was a practice shot.
 
I don’t read the OPs scenario as similar as, I assume, he proceeded to play the hole out with ball 1 and ‘abandoned’ ball as it was a practice shot.
Well, as it’s written….”you can be disqualified for that”, then at that point all he’s done is hit a second ball. There’s no suggestion that he then played the first ball.
It might be assumed, I suppose, but for Player B to suggest disqualification at the point he did ( as written), says he was somewhat premature.😀
 
Well, as it’s written….”you can be disqualified for that”, then at that point all he’s done is hit a second ball. There’s no suggestion that he then played the first ball.
It might be assumed, I suppose, but for Player B to suggest disqualification at the point he did ( as written), says he was somewhat premature.😀
It is not mentioned which ball the hole was completed with but I took the inference from ball 2 being a practice shot so that would not be the ‘proper’ shot and so wouldn’t be the ball to complete the hole with, I fully realise I may be totally wrong with this though.
 
There are lots of possibilities here and we need a bit more information to provide a definitive ruling. In particular, when playing the 'second' ball did Player A drop it in the right way and in the right place, and which ball did Player A hole out with when they reached the putting green? Edit. Supplementary question. When the player 'dropped' the 'second' ball on the ground, was it their intent that it becomes the ball in play?

Possible transgressions or penalties include: practice during play of a hole (5.5a), stroke and distance (18.1), incorrectly substituted ball (6.3b), dropping in a wrong way (14.3b), playing from a wrong place (unlikely to be a serious breach) (14.7a)

For most of the above, the maximun cumulative penalty would be two strokes, although stroke and distance in conjunction with wrong place would be three strokes (1.3c).

When Player A reached the putting green, which ball did they play? This might give rise to a DQ penalty if it was the wrong ball and the error was not corrected. (6.3c)
 
Last edited:
Player A picked up the second ball, found the first ball and finished the hole with the first ball.
After reading some of the replies here it also occured to me that Player A could have been playing a provisional ball (without advising the marker). We were playing stableford. Player A advised he scored a 5 (on a par 4) so with the addition of the 2 stroke penalty it became a 7 (Player A was playing of an 18 handicap so no points scored on the hole).

PS: It also really irritates me when someone breaks a rule (esp deliberately) and then they get upset when it's pointed out.
 
There are lots of possibilities here and we need a bit more information to provide a definitive ruling. In particular, when playing the 'second' ball did Player A drop it in the right way and in the right place, and which ball did Player A hole out with when they reached the putting green? Edit. Supplementary question. When the player 'dropped' the 'second' ball on the ground, was it their intent that it becomes the ball in play?

Possible transgressions or penalties include: practice during play of a hole (5.5a), stroke and distance (18.1), incorrectly substituted ball (6.3b), dropping in a wrong way (14.3b), playing from a wrong place (unlikely to be a serious breach) (14.7a)

For most of the above, the maximun cumulative penalty would be two strokes, although stroke and distance in conjunction with wrong place would be three strokes (1.3c).

When Player A reached the putting green, which ball did they play? This might give rise to a DQ penalty if it was the wrong ball and the error was not corrected. (6.3c)
🤣 love it…no really…👍
 
After reading some of the replies here it also occured to me that Player A could have been playing a provisional ball (without advising the marker).
It is highly unlikely that it was a provisional ball because 'someone' in the group - other than Player A - would have known about it.

Before the stroke is made, the player must announce to someone (not necessarily the player’s marker) that they are going to play a provisional ball. If the player does not announce to someone that it is a provisional and they play a ball from where the previous stroke was made, that ball is the player’s ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance.

If there is no one nearby to hear the player’s announcement, the player may play the provisional ball and then inform someone of their actions when possible to do so.

(18.3b)
 
Player A plays an approach shot to the green, hits it thin and overshoots the green. Player B (the marker) was walking up to the green when player A hits another ball (from the same spot (assumed because player B has his back to Player A) onto the green and just short of the flag. Player B says to player A "you can be disqualified (DQ) for that". Player A then says "take it up with the pro, I'm not taking a penalty". Player B then checks the rules and sees that it is a 2 stroke penalty (not DQ).

Player B says to Player A "okay, I won't sign your card". Player A then agrees to take a 2 stroke penalty.

Has anyone else experienced this? Player A is well aware of the rules but expected me to ignore them!
There have been countless times I've wanted to replay a shot (like I do when I'm not playing in a competition). So the tension between Player A and B is carried through the rest of the round, ruining my enjoyment of the game for that day.

PS, I'm Player B

Look, rules is rules. Well done for calling the bloke on this. If he knew the rule then he shouldn't have done what he did. If he didn't, then he's learnt one. Also, tell the Pro, although if yours is like ours he'd just shug and say something like, there's worse happening out there.
 
Look, rules is rules. Well done for calling the bloke on this. If he knew the rule then he shouldn't have done what he did. If he didn't, then he's learnt one. Also, tell the Pro, although if yours is like ours he'd just shug and say something like, there's worse happening out there.
Not a very satisfying approach. However, the "there's worse happening out there" is one of the reasons I don't play in our weekly competition. Very significant ignorance of the Rules and very few consequences.
 
Not a very satisfying approach. However, the "there's worse happening out there" is one of the reasons I don't play in our weekly competition. Very significant ignorance of the Rules and very few consequences.
That's very dispiriting. I also think general rules awareness has deteriorated significantly post-Covid, the new cohort that have come into our sport are frequently appalling on the rules and often don't seem to care much.
 
That's very dispiriting. I also think general rules awareness has deteriorated significantly post-Covid, the new cohort that have come into our sport are frequently appalling on the rules and often don't seem to care much.
As an extreme example, I saw a player in the competition playing by himself and winning a nearest the pin prize. Not saying the player was dishonest, but the Committee is certainly irresponsible. And not to mention bandits (we call it sand-bagging).
 
Top