Permission to take Free Relief

Troymcclure

Medal Winner
Joined
Jun 19, 2014
Messages
236
Visit site
Reading a debate elsewhere on whether the Rules Officials were correct in denying Sam Burns casual water relief, someone asked the question why he called for a referee and didn’t just make the decision himself.

Now in the circumstances he’d have been foolish (and it turns out in breach!!) had he done so but it made me realise I have no idea if there’s a Rule obligating one to obtain permission to take free relief.

I’m assuming there is a Rule, and that the permission can be granted by a fellow competitor rather than a referee, but is there?

I’ve certainly acted alone on occasion when the rule and implementation is simple and FC’s are far away. Is that a Rule breach?

Surprised I’ve never considered this question before now.
 
It's a matter fact whether relief was available in this case. Without a referee it is the judgment of the player alone to decide whether the facts support the case for relief. If they get it wrong then they would be subject to penalty. Other players (no longer FC), can advice but it is up to the player how they proceed.
 
Any player can seek guidance on a rules issue from the Committee or referee prior to submitting a card or reporting the result of a match. But there are very few rules that require the player to consult the Committee or a referee. Specific examples are: Rule 5.3 - player wishes to claim exceptional circumstances why they missed their start time and wish to avoid DQ; Rule 5.7 - player has stopped play without an authorised reason or has failed to stop play when the Committee requires; Rule 14.7b - player has hit from a wrong place that is a possible serious breach; or 20.1c(3) - a player in stroke play uncertain of a rules situation has played 2 balls and must seek Committee guidance before submitting their card.
In stroke play, no rule authorises another competitor or a marker to decide how the rules apply to a given situation. Others may offer guidance and their understanding but any breach remains the player's responsibility.
Match play is a little different in that a player and opponent can agree how to resolve a rules issue they are unsure of and that agreement will be binding. However, if players disagree and a ruling is sought, consultation is required with the Committee or referee.
 
Rather than starting a new thread….

Would you expect to get free relief from a wall that is inhibiting your swing as pictured below.?
IMG_7758.jpeg
 
Would expect that to be an integral part of the course so no free relief

Unless the scorecard says anything about it
I would turn this statement around and say it is definitely free relief as it is an immovable obstruction by default and by definition....unless the Committee has defined it via a Local Rule as an integral object, in which case there is no free relief.
 
Re an expectation, I guess it’ll depend on where you’ve played previously and how that course treated a wall like this. Scorecard LRs will be your friend
Where I played last weekend this would’ve been an immovable obstruction with relief available so I’m used to that option being available, but plenty other courses will treat it as integral
 
I would turn this statement around and say it is definitely free relief as it is an immovable obstruction by default and by definition....unless the Committee has defined it via a Local Rule as an integral object, in which case there is no free relief.

Yeah that’s prob the better way off putting it

Most courses I have played with a wall like that have had them integral

But the overall thinking is the same

Immovable object unless it’s an integral part of the course which looking at the wall I reckon it would be
 
I played a course with one and there was a red line about 6 feet short of the wall so you could either play it as it lay or take a drop under penalty.
Elsewhere the wall - also called a ha ha - was an integral part of the course.
As an(other) aside I believe they were used to stop cattle moving across to the other (greener) side!
 
Top