Penalty or not?

Rlburnside

Challenge Tour Pro
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
3,711
Visit site
Had a incedent yesterday I wasn't sure of the ruling.

I had a put just off the green other player had a put on the green but just a bit longer, we both putted at the same time and the balls were tracking to the hole and only just missed each other, so ok but what would have been the ruling if the balls hit each other?

I would guess I would have no penalty as I was putting from off the green but not sure of the ruling for the other player.
 
You would play your ball as it lies without penalty. The other player would cancel his stroke, replace his ball where it had been played from and putt again without penalty. Rule 11.1a and 11.1b
 
You would play your ball as it lies without penalty. The other player would cancel his stroke, replace his ball where it had been played from and putt again without penalty. Rule 11.1a and 11.1b
If both players replaced the ball or played it as they lied I expect the person that made the error would be subject to a general penalty.

One of them would have played from a wrong position by mistake.

What would be the procedure please?
 
If both players replaced the ball or played it as they lied I expect the person that made the error would be subject to a general penalty.

One of them would have played from a wrong position by mistake.

What would be the procedure please?
Yes, and yes - unless in the latter case it was a serious breach (player gained a significant advantage) in which case it needs correcting.
See 14.7 for hook line and sinker.
 
Top