Spectator advice

sunshine

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 17, 2018
Messages
6,484
Visit site
I was watching a professional event (US Open qualifying) and the crowds were fairly sparse so I could stand close to the action. On one green, I watched several players not read the break of a putt. When a later player came through, he was standing 3 or 4 yards in front of me lining up his putt. I really wanted to tell him it was going to break 6 inches right to left. He lined it up too straight and missed on the low side like everyone before him. I didn't say anything of course - but what's the ruling if I had given him the advice?
 
I was watching a professional event (US Open qualifying) and the crowds were fairly sparse so I could stand close to the action. On one green, I watched several players not read the break of a putt. When a later player came through, he was standing 3 or 4 yards in front of me lining up his putt. I really wanted to tell him it was going to break 6 inches right to left. He lined it up too straight and missed on the low side like everyone before him. I didn't say anything of course - but what's the ruling if I had given him the advice?
If someone says he gets a penalty for a random spectator shouting out the break then I'll quit golf right now. :ROFLMAO:
 
Clarification 10.2a/2
Player Must Try to Stop Ongoing Advice That Is Given Voluntarily
If a player gets advice from someone other than their caddie (such as a spectator) without asking for it, they get no penalty. However, if the player continues to get advice from that same person, the player must try to stop that person from giving advice. If the player does not do so, they are treated as asking for that advice and get the penalty under Rule 10.2a.
 
I was watching a professional event (US Open qualifying) and the crowds were fairly sparse so I could stand close to the action. On one green, I watched several players not read the break of a putt. When a later player came through, he was standing 3 or 4 yards in front of me lining up his putt. I really wanted to tell him it was going to break 6 inches right to left. He lined it up too straight and missed on the low side like everyone before him. I didn't say anything of course - but what's the ruling if I had given him the advice?
You would get a two shot penalty starting the first tournament you turn professional.
 
Top