mikejohnchapman
Challenge Tour Pro
The rules (13.1f) now require you to take complete relief if you are on the wrong green. There are even pictures of this supplied in the new books clearly showing that both feet and ball must be clear of the green.
The rule wording says that relief must be taken if there is interference by the green for the players stance or intended swing. Not sure I understand the swing bit.
However, I was buttonholed in the bar last week and asked if I agreed that the rule meant the ball had to be dropped in such a way as to ensure the swing path didn't cross the green boundry on the backswing or follow through.
My initial reaction was as long as the players ball and feet were clear of the green it wasn't a problem but he insisted his interpretation was correct.
Is he correct and if so why when I can't believe this interferes with the shot?
The rule wording says that relief must be taken if there is interference by the green for the players stance or intended swing. Not sure I understand the swing bit.
However, I was buttonholed in the bar last week and asked if I agreed that the rule meant the ball had to be dropped in such a way as to ensure the swing path didn't cross the green boundry on the backswing or follow through.
My initial reaction was as long as the players ball and feet were clear of the green it wasn't a problem but he insisted his interpretation was correct.
Is he correct and if so why when I can't believe this interferes with the shot?