Pedant Watch - Wrong Green

mikejohnchapman

Challenge Tour Pro
Joined
Oct 5, 2011
Messages
2,062
Location
Dorset
Visit site
The rules (13.1f) now require you to take complete relief if you are on the wrong green. There are even pictures of this supplied in the new books clearly showing that both feet and ball must be clear of the green.

The rule wording says that relief must be taken if there is interference by the green for the players stance or intended swing. Not sure I understand the swing bit.

However, I was buttonholed in the bar last week and asked if I agreed that the rule meant the ball had to be dropped in such a way as to ensure the swing path didn't cross the green boundry on the backswing or follow through.

My initial reaction was as long as the players ball and feet were clear of the green it wasn't a problem but he insisted his interpretation was correct.

Is he correct and if so why when I can't believe this interferes with the shot?
 
The rules (13.1f) now require you to take complete relief if you are on the wrong green. There are even pictures of this supplied in the new books clearly showing that both feet and ball must be clear of the green.

The rule wording says that relief must be taken if there is interference by the green for the players stance or intended swing. Not sure I understand the swing bit.

However, I was buttonholed in the bar last week and asked if I agreed that the rule meant the ball had to be dropped in such a way as to ensure the swing path didn't cross the green boundry on the backswing or follow through.

My initial reaction was as long as the players ball and feet were clear of the green it wasn't a problem but he insisted his interpretation was correct.

Is he correct and if so why when I can't believe this interferes with the shot?
Perhaps - If the dropped ball ends up very close to the green a poor iron shot maybe could take a divot out of the green, but I`m with you (confused) on this one.
 
The wording is actually

• A wrong green physically interferes with the player’s area of intended stance or area of intended swing.

This could be interpreted as your club must not pass above the green.

As the drop is nearest point of relief then one club length it would be easy to ensure that there is no risk of infringing the rule.
 
No real confusion.

There's nothing in the rules that specifies that the margin of a putting green extends vertically, so we are concerned with the putting surface.

Swing is the path of the club, including clubhead, so a swing that would involve a clubhead making contact with the putting surface (divot etc) would not represent full relief (same applies to obstructions). A club head passing over the putting surface isn't interference.

Basically as oltimer outlines, and your interpretation begins.
 
Top