OOB staked tree impeding shot

WinBase

Medal Winner
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
47
Visit site
An unusual situation happened to a pp when his ball came to rest (in bounds) within inches of the OOB grip between the fairway and practice area, however overhanging branches onto the course from a staked tree planted on the practice fairway impeded his swing. The local rules allowed for a drop from staked trees, but because the tree itself was OOB does this make a difference?. Our gut feeling was that as the tree wasn't 'in-bounds', he had to either take a penalty or play it as it lies, so he just took his medicine and punted it with a short swing, but was this decision right?
 
13-2/19 covers the fact he can't improve an area of intended swing by moving the tree that is situated out of bounds however, 13-2/20 talks about the part of a fence leaning onto the course is considered an immovable obstruction and the player is entitled to relief, so I would say as the LR is in place for staked trees and part of that staked tree is interfering, he could take relief under with 24-2b
 
Top