On Course Debate

Mattyj3nks

Medal Winner
Visit site
Morning all,

I played last week in a competition to get my final scorecard handed in to get my official handicap.

Im new to the whole competion rules etc but had to get between 2 guys in my fourball as they were kicking off.

The situation was......a guy put his ball right off the tee and into some bushed so played a provisional which finished on the fairway.
We were looking for his ball which was in the bushes, he could physically get to the ball but there was no way he could play a shot as it was right next to a small tree trunk.

The guy who played the shot said he could drop a shot and place the ball a clubs length outside of the bushed but no closer to the hole from where the ball went it.
The other guy said he has found his ball and its in play so ha has to play it.

This turned into a very heated argument.

I would appreciate what the correct rules would be so i am aware for future if this ever happens again.

Thanks

FairwayDodger

Money List Winner
Visit site
He has four options...

1. Play the ball as it lies (sounds like that's not viable)

Or, under penalty of one shot

2. Take a drop two club lengths from where the ball lies, not nearer the hole. (If that doesn't get him out of the bush it's tough)
3. Take a drop by moving back in a straight line as far he likes in line with the spot where the ball finished and the pin.
4. Go back to where the previous shot was played from (the tee in this case)

hovis

Tour Winner
Visit site
Both people were wrong. You dont have to play it as it lies and if you do decide to take a unplayable its two club lengths from the ball not the bush. Sometimes 2 clubs isn't enough to get you out the bushes. Thats tough luck

Mattyj3nks

Medal Winner
Visit site
Ok so if 2 club lengths still doesnt get him out of the bush what are his options?
carry on with his provisional so would have been 3rd shot off the tee?

CliveW

Tour Winner
Visit site