Not playing tee shot

Neilds

Assistant Pro
Joined
Feb 25, 2014
Messages
6,720
Location
Wiltshire
Visit site
Played a couple of days ago and we got to a par 3 over water, 175 yards into quite a strong wind. One of the guys, more elderly, stated he could not clear the water with any club and, as there was nowhere to lay up (steep bank straight to the water) he would just play his 'third' shot from the dropping zone round by the side of the water.
this seemed sensible and saved him pointlessly wasting a ball in the wate, but was it correct?
 
Can't be right. Literally breaks the first Rule of golf :eek:

1-1 - General

The Game of Golf consists of playing a ball with a club from the teeing ground into the hole by a stroke or successive strokes in accordance with the Rules.
 
He either needs to get a supply of super cheap balls so he can fire one in the water and not worry about it...
Or

He needs to stop playing in there because he can't keep doing that.

How big a carry is it and how far is it to the water..?
 
Mmm, I think he is failing to play the designated course. Also, although probable, there is no guarantee that his tee shot would end up making the dropping zone the necessary next step.

If it is just a casual £2 game, fine, but in a comp or qualifying round, I think he has to play the tee shot.
 
Mmm, I think he is failing to play the designated course. Also, although probable, there is no guarantee that his tee shot would end up making the dropping zone the necessary next step.

If it is just a casual £2 game, fine, but in a comp or qualifying round, I think he has to play the tee shot.

Indeed - is the bank in the water hazard- and we have all seen air shots on the tee and topped shots that don't get off the tee area
 
Course should be reasonably playable, I think too often fairways are not cut close enough to tees. Either that or courses are too long.
 
As said he'll have to punt a ball into the water to proceed from drop zone, this is why its good to keep a couple of scappies or found balls in the bag
 
Yes. A 175yd par 3 is definitely unplayable.
:mad:

I am in favour of the "Green" tees used at some courses, a set of tees for those who cannot make carries over rough or water. Helps keep the game playable for everyone. I firmly believe all par 3s should have an area to lay up on if alternative tees are not used.
 
I am in favour of the "Green" tees used at some courses, a set of tees for those who cannot make carries over rough or water. Helps keep the game playable for everyone. I firmly believe all par 3s should have an area to lay up on if alternative tees are not used.

I like this idea but you cannot have this on all par 3's

Anything over 170yards seems reasonable though.
 
In terms of the Rules, what he has done is to start the hole by playing from outside the teeing ground, incurring a 2 stroke penalty and the requirement to play from the teeing ground (Rule 11-4b). As he did not correct the mistake he has no score for the hole. In stroke play that would mean a DQ; in stableford it would be no score for that hole; for handicapping purposes it would be calculated as a net double bogey. In a bounce game it would be the sensible thing for the other players to agree to, in my view.
 
Last edited:
In terms of the Rules, what he has done is to start the hole by playing from outside the teeing ground, incurring a 2 stroke penalty and the requirement to play from the teeing ground (Rule 11-4b). As he did not correct the mistake he has no score for the hole. In stroke play that would mean a DQ; in stableford it would be no score for that hole; for handicapping purposes it would be calculated as a net double bogey. In a bounce game it would be the sensible thing for the other players to agree to, in my view.
Could'nt he just not play the hole and NR in Strokeplay and save being DQ'd as well?
 
I would have thought NR'ing in a medal is automatic DQ as you can't return a score. He can still play for his handicap but he's out of the comp.

Agreed, but not sure if automatic DQ or score won't count in Comp.
 
See Rule 11-4b
If the competitor makes a stroke from the next teeing ground without first correcting his mistake or, in the case of the last hole of the round, leaves the putting green without first declaring his intention to correct his mistake, he is disqualified.
 
Last edited:
See Rule 11-4b
If the competitor makes a stroke from the next teeing ground without first correcting his mistake or, in the case of the last hole of the round, leaves the putting green without first declaring his intention to correct his mistake, he is disqualified.
Understood Colin, was asking if he had another option and could simply miss the hole out and avoid the DQ:D
 
Top