No more Winter Rules.....

If it were a club length, which club? Driver, 7 iron, long putter? Scorecard is near enough to 6", that will do. It's a guide rather than a fixed length.
 
If it were a club length, which club? Driver, 7 iron, long putter? Scorecard is near enough to 6", that will do. It's a guide rather than a fixed length.
I believe a club length in the rules is the longest club in your bag not including your putter.

Scorecards are of various lengths some of them have 4 ‘pages’, some are one fold but horizontal, some are just a samall bi fold.

The agreed model local rule wording EG have agreed upon for acceptable handicapping is 6 inches - seems simple and clear to me.
 
Since MLR E-2 and E-3 have been mentioned in a current thread (How is your course shaping up...)...and over the course of the last three rounds I have played, it was clear or seemed to me, that none of those I was playing with knew that under our Winter Local Rule for lift and place relief we did not have to mark the original position of our ball - even some very experienced players. And so I became concerned that I was getting it wrong...that I had to mark the position of my ball.

Indeed for years I have been telling anyone who listens that under MLR E-3 as suggested (for relief under a Winter Local Rule) and as implemented by my club, I do NOT have to mark the position of my ball before lifting it prior to placing - though marking position is certainly recommended. That is distinct from MLR E-2 (for cleaning ball) which states the position of the ball MUST be marked prior to lifting and replacing.

I have just reread MLR E-3 and became a bit concerned as the associated text to MLR E-3 states that 'the player must choose a spot to place the ball and use the procedure for replacing a ball under Rules 14.2b(2) and 14.2e'. And I've never checked these rules.

My concern was that Rule 14.2b(2) required marking - but on checking - it doesn't. Indeed 14.2c goes on to talk about 'original spot' - which clearly requires original spot to be marked.

And so I am OK.

But still - so many don''t know.
 
Since MLR E-2 and E-3 have been mentioned in a current thread (How is your course shaping up...)...and over the course of the last three rounds I have played, it was clear or seemed to me, that none of those I was playing with knew that under our Winter Local Rule for lift and place relief we did not have to mark the original position of our ball - even some very experienced players. And so I became concerned that I was getting it wrong...that I had to mark the position of my ball.

Indeed for years I have been telling anyone who listens that under MLR E-3 as suggested (for relief under a Winter Local Rule) and as implemented by my club, I do NOT have to mark the position of my ball before lifting it prior to placing - though marking position is certainly recommended. That is distinct from MLR E-2 (for cleaning ball) which states the position of the ball MUST be marked prior to lifting and replacing.

I have just reread MLR E-3 and became a bit concerned as the associated text to MLR E-3 states that 'the player must choose a spot to place the ball and use the procedure for replacing a ball under Rules 14.2b(2) and 14.2e'. And I've never checked these rules.

My concern was that Rule 14.2b(2) required marking - but on checking - it doesn't. Indeed 14.2c goes on to talk about 'original spot' - which clearly requires original spot to be marked.

And so I am OK.

But still - so many don''t know.

Even knowing that rule I often still mark out of long term habit

Also related not many players are aware that you can change the ball when using lift clean and place, or any time time a ball is being moved form one place to another.
 
Even knowing that rule I often still mark out of long term habit

Also related not many players are aware that you can change the ball when using lift clean and place, or any time time a ball is being moved form one place to another.
I tend to mark it anyway just in case I forget where it was. 😄
 
Top