new to golf and forum

Adey

Visit site
hi all
I am new to golf just started 5 months ago but had time out for a knee op so getting back into it, I am going get some lessons but could anyone recommend a decent set of irons as i have been looking around and i am unsure what to get im currently using cheap irons from argos so i think my game should improve with some decent irons. I was thinking of getting graphite as i think this would suit my powerful swing? ( i can hit the ball on a half swing further than my mates full swing)

many thanks
adrian

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
Welcome along. Where do you play? I guess it depends a lot on how much you're prepared to spend although my advice would be to have some lessons and build a solid foundation for the swing and then find some clubs that work for the game you have.

Adey

Visit site
that sounds like good advice im going to book my lessons saturday and take it from there, I am playing in Caerphilly south wales at the moment, me and my friends are thinking of trying different courses in and around south wales,

Swinger

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
People generally use graphite to help them generate power due to a lack of natural power.

I'm not interested in how far your half swing goes but if you feel you hit the ball with a good club head speed and good distance then I would steer away from graphite.

slugger

Tour Rookie
Visit site
welcome and enjoy the game... it's great. Now going into my 3rd season and only wish i had started earlier!

how much money you got to spend on new irons?

adriano

Visit site
Not sure I'm qualified to reply in the "Ask the Experts" section but I'd generally agree with the above.