New Fairway woods - shallow faces ?

• Thread starter Deleted member 1147
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 1147

Morning all,
I'm considering changing the top end of my bag. I currently have a Titleist 917 FW set to 4 wood loft, and a Titliest 816 hybrid.
I'm not keep on the hybrid and rarely use it. So was thinking of going back to the old classic set up of a 3 wood and a 5 wood.
When wondering around American Golf the other weekend I noticed that quite a lot of the new breed of FWs have seemingly very shallow faces, particularly the TM Stealth and current Pings.

How do people feel about this, does it give people more confidence than the deeper faced woods, like mine, or do you get scared of hitting under the ball, and skying it, especially if the balls sat up?
Cheers

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Visit site
I tried some Ping woods in the past with shallow faces and I didn't like them at all. Made it much easier to sky one off the tee especially. I've been using Cobra F9s for a few years now, they look a bit taller and I'm way more confident with them. I never found the shallow faces any easier to hit off the deck so I'm not sure why people would want them really.

Daff

Hacker
Visit site
I'm on the opposite side of the fence - I've always struggled with deeper faced fairways and love the Ping G400 that I've currently got. It's got a shallow face and I find it really easy to elevate from the fairway. I tend not to use fairways from the rough unless it's a really good lie and will usually either take my medicine and play sensibly or use a hybrid

Junior

Tour Winner
Visit site
Morning all,
I'm considering changing the top end of my bag. I currently have a Titleist 917 FW set to 4 wood loft, and a Titliest 816 hybrid.
I'm not keep on the hybrid and rarely use it. So was thinking of going back to the old classic set up of a 3 wood and a 5 wood.