With hindsight he should have done that, but he probably felt he could chip it close rather than chunking it into the bunker.I'd be: Unplayable ball, stroke & distance pen and I'll take the putt again
With hindsight he should have done that, but he probably felt he could chip it close rather than chunking it into the bunker.
Probably just me but the pin position is a bit ridiculous if that can happen, it looked like he barely touched that putt.
Was that the one they had to water between groups as the ball wouldn’t stay on the green?I remember the US Open, the one Goosen won....one green was so hard and fast that, during practice, a caddy placed a ball 18 inches beyond the flag.......
And the ball rolled 30 yards off the back of the green under its own steam.....
Sometimes golf just ain't fair.....
You have to say he was unlucky and I assume no-one else suffered the same fate. Seemed to scramble his head hence the poor pitch but it wasn't a poor putt and didn't deserve that outcome
I'd be: Unplayable ball, stroke & distance pen and I'll take the putt again
Your ball doesn‘t have to be unplayable - that’s a common/popular misconception.I did the same thing in a match a couple of years ago, I knew about the unplayable rule but in the heat of the moment forgot all about it, I was putting for birdie, finished with with a triple bogey.
If you'd been a member at Grims Dyke a few years back, you'd have seen the same thing in the club championship on the 10th. It was carnage. A mate of mine playing off 7 was on the green with his tee shot and walked off with an 8. Someone scored 13. I got a 9, which included TWO instances of taking S&D after putting off the green.Probably just me but the pin position is a bit ridiculous if that can happen, it looked like he barely touched that putt.
I'd have to see it from the side to be sure but to me it looked like the ball virtually stopped on about three occasions including before the hole. Which to me means the green was to fast for that pin location.